heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Zero Days

leave a comment »

The shuttle brought us here, to the Hiker Hostel, last night. It is a beautiful new bed and breakfast, designed for hikers and bicyclists. It is like a normal bed and breakfast, except with bunk beds and extra hiker amenities thrown in –  laundry room, a hiker kitchen, hiker supply closet and of course the shuttle service.

We had hot showers, visited with the other guests, more hot showers and turned in before sunset.

I love the contrast of our packs and the silver tray in the corner!

We slept in late and woke to a beautiful day. Today was Oddbird’s day to do his town chores – what thru hikers call a zero day (no miles).

He washed his clothes before we left the hostel. Then we headed out to town.

We wandered around Suches, GA for most of the day, doing errands. Amazing how crazy a Wal-Mart can feel after being in the woods for a week. We had many good laughs as we searched for batteries, Bandaids, and other little amenities.

We checked into a hotel for the night, and Oddbird did a sort on all his gear and food. Made a pile of stuff to send home, and then we headed for the UPS store. With that errand done, it was back to the hotel for the final shake down and pack reorganization, updating of the on-line trail journal, a few tweets, and we called it a day.

I played observer in most of this. My day involved tagging along, and trying not to give too much advice!

In spite of a good night’s sleep and multiple hot showers and handfuls of Advil, I was still exhausted and hurting, and this entire day is a blur. I do know, at one point, Oddbird said it was fun to be in Walmart with me when I was exhausted, he saw a whole new side of me – apparently, I’m really funny when I’m too tired to function!

In bed before the sun set, again.

Written by wovensongs

February 24, 2012 at 9:10 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Finding Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

