heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Elimination Diet Begins

with 2 comments

Difficult to believe it’s been almost a month since I posted.

I returned from my hike to 3 weeks of constantly changing weather. Cold fronts, heat waves, summer, winter, rain, rain, rain. 80 one day, 50 the next. Strange weather, and not good for RA, which played its normal games, and reacted badly to the weather. When you add in the challenge of my recent hike, it has taken almost the entire month to get back to my normal level of happy joints.

At one point, when I was feeling discouraged over the whole thing. I sat down and re-read my entire journal and blog for the past year. I was surprised at just how badly I was doing this time a year ago, how much improvement I saw over the course of the year, and how much milder the current roller coaster ride was compared to the one last spring.

I haven’t kept my daily journal or logged as much since fall. But reading back over the last year, I can see the value in having a daily record of how I feel, what I’m eating, what the weather is doing, what I’m doing for exercise and therapy. So, now it’s time to log and blog again.

Just before my trip, I started working with a nutritionist. I’m now six weeks into an elimination diet. I am eating only meat, vegetables, fruit, coffee w/ sugar. That’s all. I’ve lost 7 pounds!

Tomorrow, I’m adding back eggs. I’m supposed to eat lots of eggs – 1/2 a dozen or more over the course of the day (unless I have an immediate reaction). If nothing bad happens as a result of the eggs, I go back to meat/veggies/fruit for a couple of days and then try another food. This project will keep me entertained for the rest of the spring, at least!

Written by wovensongs

April 1, 2012 at 6:57 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here’s to progress!

    How wonderful that you can see how far you’ve come.

    Marianna

    April 2, 2012 at 2:38 pm

  2. Isn’t it amazing to look back and see how far we have come? When I was reading I thought, “Wow, you accomplished an amazing hike which is an accomplishment for anyone with an illness or not!

    I am excited to hear how your results go. Meat, veggies and fruit can be pretty good tasting food! I think the added benefit you have over others is you have added in a positive attitude. In my opinion, that makes all the difference. Good luck.

    Cathy

    April 3, 2012 at 8:22 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Finding Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

