heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Shopping for Joint Protection

leave a comment »

This is my first blog. I want to write about some things I’ve learned about RA and myself, and about what I’m currently doing for RA. Maybe, eventually, I’ll write about other things.

I’ve been researching and thinking about joint protection since my Physical Therapist (PT) mentioned it two weeks ago. So, once I was past the denial, I set about to examine my life and see where I could find ways to protect my joints.

Today I purchased, at less than ½ price, a WELLNESSmat at TJ Maxx. Now that I’ve stood on it to cook, I wish I had one for every workstation in the kitchen. I can see a future of having these in the bathroom, at my stand up desk, everywhere around my house that I frequently stand to do task-work.

I also purchased a rolling briefcase, which will make getting in and out of work easier. It’s big enough for my laptop, my new purse and my lunch bag. When my handicap hangtag comes, those bad flare days will be a little easier. And I’m mastering the ploy of timing the door so that someone else opens it and holds it for me. Grey hair has its pluses!

I bought a new lightweight, blue crinkle nylon, Baggallini uptown bag – just big enough for the bare essentials needed to run into a store. The strap runs across my chest and the bag sits against my side, so that should distribute the weight better and keep my shoulders happier! On the front it has a cell phone pocket and a pocket for my keys and cash, on the other side a pocket for my shopping list, and a larger pocket in the middle for my checkbook and credit card, with a zipper compartment for my EPI pen and Benadryl.  It’s small; I won’t be able to put extra stuff in it. It must be last years model, because it doesn’t have the fancy buckle on the outside pocket that I see in the ads (isn’t the internet amazing) and it was only $20 at TJ Maxx.

I also bought soft plumbing pipe insulation tubing. I’m going to make a steering wheel cover with it. It’s softer and much less expensive than the ones at the auto parts store. I put the same stuff on my garden tools and bucket handles last weekend, and it’s delightfully soft on my hands.

And I finally broke down and bought an ultrasonic toothbrush and some of those “fat” pens and pencils.  Only they keep disappearing, so I’m going to have to think of something else. Apparently, the “Borrowers” at work and at home prefer fat pens, too! (If you have little children, get a copy of “The Borrowers” – a delightful read)

For now, that covers what I plan to do. It addresses the joints that have been “talking” the loudest and should make life more comfortable.

Written by wovensongs

May 13, 2011 at 5:49 pm

Posted in Joint Protection

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

