heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Curves Ahead

leave a comment »

Joint Report

Left hand continues to be happier than right.

I saw PT2 today. She does Feldenkrais bodywork and trigger point therapy as well as joint manipulation and teaches me range of motion and strengthening and stretching exercises for self-care. I’ve been working with her for almost a year. My range of motion in my neck has improved so much I feel like the owl we used to watch when we lived in the woods. It still creaks and pops, but it MOVES.

Today we worked on my right shoulder – the “mouse muscle” in particular. It continues to burn and ache. She got me a soft foam roller, which I’m to lay on for 10 minutes each night. Tail bone at one end, head at the other, with the roller along my spine. Lay and do nothing, just melt into the roller and the floor. This is an exercise I can do!

Edema

The edema continues to improve. I have new curves in my right arm! I wish I had 3 dimensional images of my body before and after each lymph session. It would be amazing. I do have weekly measurements of key points and know I’ve lost a total of 39 inches and 20 pounds. It’s so amazing to watch my tendons and muscles re-appearing after looking like a stuffed sausage for so long. All those years that I wondered why I couldn’t lose weight, no matter what diet I tried, or how active I was, all those years where I wondered how I could gain 5 pounds overnight, or 20 pounds in three months, all those years where I wondered why I had pouches of “fat” in the strangest places and how they could grow there overnight – Why don’t doctors know these things, recognize these things, actually look at our bodies, feel our bodies, understand that we are more than just lab numbers????? Why did I have to figure this out myself?????

Written by wovensongs

May 18, 2011 at 7:09 pm

Posted in Edema, Joints

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

