heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Pimping my Car for RA

leave a comment »

Joint Report

8 days with most joints at a 1! That’s new!

Last time I’m sure I was cross contaminated with gluten was April 30 so – assuming that the gluten is the trigger for the flares, it took 12 days to get over the gluten and get back to my baseline. We’ve had plenty of weather in the past 8 days, so at least this time the barometric pressure isn’t a factor this time. I’ve been careful to not over do but I have been active, gardening and cleaning house and working.

Joint Protection

My son put the spongy foam pipe insulation around my steering wheel today. It looks great. And I finally put the hangtag in my glove box. So, now my car is all decked out for RA.

About two weeks ago, as I grabbed the steering wheel, I had a lovely new pain in the metacarpal phalangeal joint of the middle finger on my left hand. This particular pain is non-discriminatory – an equal opportunity kind of guy – and has visited all the metacarpal phalangeal joints in turn – hasn’t missed a single one! Every morning is a surprise to see which MJ joint will be speaking to me. Hopefully, the lovely foam will soften the morning surprise a bit.

This particular pain was new, yet somehow very familiar. I worried it around in my mind for several days, and then had the “aha“ moment. It was the same pain I had when I “injured” my thumbs, the pain that made me stop being a massage therapist in 1997. So I want to know – was that RA? I know I was tired at the time, so tired I took an entire month off work and did nothing but sleep all day, grocery shop, and do the minimal amount of laundry and cooking. That was also the year I was so tired I paid my roommate to do the housework. The doctors told me it was perimenopause. Sigh. I think I’ve had this for 14 years, 13 without a diagnosis.

Written by wovensongs

May 20, 2011 at 7:24 pm

Posted in Joint Protection

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

