heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Gluten – RA link

leave a comment »

Joint Report

RA is some better today. PT2’s work on my shoulder yesterday was wonderful! Now, how do I keep my shoulder back where she put it?

Celiac –RA connection?

So, I’m beginning to see a pattern (maybe, I hope, I hope). I got mildly CCd by something this week, but couldn’t figure out what. Darling Son (who lives with me and has Celiac Disease) mentioned that he had a slight reaction to something he ate. When we looked at my food log, and talked about what he’d eaten, it looks like it was the cantaloupe we had on Monday night. Now, I know that cantaloupe should not contain gluten – however, the cantaloupe was on a table right next to the bulk flour bins. All it takes is a little flour in the air, which settles on the cantaloupe, (which I guess I didn’t wash well enough), and then the flour gets transferred from the outside of the cantaloupe to the inside and then to me. Since the official amount of gluten that will make me sick is 20 ppm, we are talking microscopic amounts. Anything as big as one teeny tiny bit of flour is more than enough. Guess I will be buying my cantaloupe at the farmer’s market – or washing the outside with a scrub brush – or skipping it altogether. There isn’t anything else in the food logs that would explain it. We are both super careful about what we eat. We don’t eat in restaurants, we cook our food at home, from high quality ingredients and eat very little processed food. We don’t often eat together because our schedules don’t mesh, but we do eat out of the same refrigerator. When we are both sick, it’s usually pretty easy to figure out the culprit. Cantaloupe, oy vey!

Written by wovensongs

May 26, 2011 at 7:46 pm

Posted in Gluten

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

