heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Gardening

leave a comment »

The worst of my gluten exposure is behind me. Still not sleeping, but PT1 got my lymph flowing again, so the edema is back to baseline, and the joint pain follows the edema, so it is also back at baseline. Actually, a little better than baseline; I can now see all the knobby bumpy pointy bones in my elbow! I’m fascinated at how the edema is slowly disappearing, revealing the old me, the me that was hidden beneath 20 and counting pounds of swollen waterlogged cells.

Going to plant a new flower bed on the shady side of the house today. There’s already some ferns there from the previous owner, I’m going to fill in with some more I bought at Southern States, then some coleus for color, and the wood violets I dug up in the mountains last weekend. I know the violets will like it there since some violets already live  in the “grass” on that side of the house, only they never get very big, because the deer like to eat them. I’ll have to spray, but violets are my childhood favorite.

My oxalis bed is looking great. I found 3 new varieties this spring at the local garden center. Now I have red with white flowers, red with pink flowers, green with white flowers, green with pink flowers, and three new ones. One of my old ones – that had dark in the center, with green border, is struggling. I’ve only seen a leaf or two, and yesterday – none. So, I need to water that bed more and see if it will revive. My tactic these days is to plant more of whatever makes it through the previous summer! My strategy is working. My flower beds are looking pretty most days.

I’ve also discovered that it pays to buy the more expensive plants from the local guys. They start out smaller than the ones from the big box stores, and then end up three times as big.

I’ve been having fun with the coleus, cutting them back and rooting the tops, to get more plants. I have a whole tray full to take to DD.

I dug my first (2 foot square) bed of potatoes – 3.5 pounds! I have 3 more little beds. I’ll wait another 2 weeks, and see what they are looking like. I think I was a little early in digging that bed. There have been potatoes at the market for several weeks, so I though mine might be ready, but I must have planted later. I need to learn what the potato plants look like when it is time to dig. It’s all a grand experiment, and is keeping me moving, without putting too much stress on anything. Roomy is doing most of the actual dirt moving to build the beds, and I do the fun part of planting, mulching, watering, and weeding.

I’m developing all kinds of tricks so that I can keep gardening, without putting too much stress on my poor old joints.

Kneeling makes my knees complain, so I’m doing a lot of sitting on my butt and squatting. I’ve “hinted” that I want a kneeling pad for my birthday, and maybe one of those nifty garden stools.

Although I have to do a little of this and a little of that, and keep using different parts of my body to keep from getting stiff and sore, the overall experience of gardening is good for all of me.

The vitamin D is good for my body, using my joints and muscles is good for my RA, the vegetables are good for my tummy, and the flowers are good for my soul. An excellent way to spend a weekend.

Written by wovensongs

June 4, 2011 at 8:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

