heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Baby Steps

leave a comment »

Drat. Lost my whole post. This is tricky. Don’t know where it went. And my short-term memory… well… I do remember the title.

Update: Ha! I figured it out. Put the wrong date on it. All fixed. Ain’t I the clever girl.

I’m not such a dizzy broad today, a little head spinning when I rescued my peach, which had decided to visit the dust bunnies under my desk. But, that’s all! I even got some work done – as opposed to pushing piles of paper around on my desk and wishing I could think clearly enough to follow a thought from point A to point B.

I omitted the thyroid meds this morning, so maybe that’s the ticket off this particular roller coaster.

Or maybe it was the gluten. When there are too many variables, it’s difficult to figure out. So, forward to keeping gluten safe.

Just like a kindergarten kid, I now have a chart posted on my fridge, and a pile of gold stars nearby. How many days can I go without getting gluten zapped? 5 stars so far!

And I have some new mantras to support me along the way:

  • Food is just for fuel
  • I only eat safe food
  • I test all new food BEFORE eating
  • Hunger is just another interesting enjoyable sensation – useful when safe food is unavailable
  • Stop confounding the variables – ONE new food at a time

And my joints are all – almost – back to baseline – maybe at a 0.5! Is that the end I see ahead… maybe… maybe … please?

I didn’t sleep well last night, about 4 hours. After doing my stretches in bed, and meditating, and fulminating because the Internet was down, and trying for the third time to go back to sleep, I just gave it up.

I spent an hour working on an art project, and then a half hour strolling the garden, coffee cup in hand, pulling weeds – not actually gardening, mind you, but a move in the right direction. The lettuce babies are waiting, impatiently.

Work, noontime conversation with a friend, then one short, quick, concrete filled errand on my way home. All in all, a good day.

Except my knees and feet and ankles were mad at me once again – and my step tyrant says I only did 2000 steps today. How will I ever get up to the 6,000 a day for health or the 10,000 it says I need for weight loss.  URGH.

Home to spend an hour on the computer, then nap, awake long enough to eat dinner (my roomy cooked and cleaned up – bless him) and back to sleep by 8:30.

So, not back to my normal pace, but moving in the right direction.  Baby Steps.

Written by wovensongs

August 31, 2011 at 6:11 am

Posted in Gluten

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

