heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Scary Scary Scary

with 2 comments

Woke this morning feeling great. I bounced out of bed without even thinking about my feet. No pain, no stiffness. I was just about to declare this flare – Over. Done. Finis.

And then I reached for my toothbrush –  and pain shot up my arm.

Flash backs to two years ago, the year of therapy to rehab my wrist.

Then the re-injury that lead to the RA diagnosis.

Not a happy place. Lots of bad words flew through the air. Then I took a deep breath, and got on with my life.

I’ve iced and rested and iced and rested and iced and rested.

Luckily, I wasn’t the driver on the way to my DD1’s house and once there, I stayed entertained all day with just sitting and catching up with their lives. They have a new 4 month old rescue parrot, and  she is a source of great entertainment. The neighbor wandered across the street with her 4 month old son, another great distraction. We meandered through the garden and had home grown tomatoes with dinner. I didn’t even offer to help with the dishes!

RA always comes with new growth opportunities and today was no exception. Thanks to my sore wrist, I spent some quality time today perfecting my one-handed texting technique!

It’s been a scary day. My wrist is… about the same… maybe a little better…

Glad I had friends and family around to distract me!

Written by wovensongs

September 3, 2011 at 9:34 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My wrists are probably the worst hit with ra. I do find that wearing wrist supports do help alot. Course now you can’t do dishes with them or any other wet activity but you can do everything else with them on. Have you seen an orthopedic doc about the wrist yet? Also a cortizone injection might be of help also but an orthopedic doctor will evaluate it for you and determine the best splints/braces to help you out. And yes, it is truly a pain!

    deb aka murphthesurf

    September 4, 2011 at 11:24 am

    • Hi Deb,

      Thanks for your reply, your thoughts and ideas.

      I’ve just started blogging and can already see that having these conversations with other’s who have walked this path before me is going to be really good for me. As supportive as my friends and family are, they can’t feel what is going on in my body. I think only someone who has RA can truly understand.

      Although I’ve been lurking around on other blogs for months, I have just started to reach out and connect. This is a scary disease. I’ve always been the kind of woman who can handle anything, as long as I know what the dimensions are. Find out the facts, make a plan, and take action. That seemed to work on everything life threw at me – until RA. RA doesn’t seem to have any rules, except that every time you think you have it figured out, the game changes.

      So, I’m finding that reading other blogs is a comfort, a source of ideas, and inspiration.

      My wrist has been a long, two-year battle. I thought I was winning, so my setback this week was disheartening. I seem better today, and am being very careful. I wish I could figure out if the setback was caused by some activity that I could then AVOID – sigh!

      I have done everything short of the cortisone injection over the course of a year of treatments to rehab that wrist.

      The RA dx came about a year ago, after a year spent rehabbing my left wrist from De Quervain’s tendonitis.

      During that year I saw an orthopedic doc, a chiropractor, a physical therapist and an MD who specialized in pain. Each had their own approach, each had come recommended by a friend who had experienced De Quervain’s. Don’t know whether what they did helped or just kept me entertained while my body healed over time! Over that year I had some kind of therapy once or twice a week, three sets of splints, TENS, ultrasound, underwater ultrasound, iontophroesis, some kind of injections (but it wasn’t cortisone), lots of deep tissue massage to break up the adhesions (not fun), lots of painful joint manipulation to return range of motion.

      It was a long journey, painful and expensive, but with continual improvement. After the first year, I thought I was finally seeing the proverbial light at the end of the tunnel, when I picked up my computer bag, it slipped, “tweaked” my wrist, I saw stars and my knees buckled. I was scared that I was right back at the beginning again. I was referred to a new Physical Therapist, and after a through exam, he told me there was more to the story and sent me to a Rheumatologist. Exams and multiple blood work lead to the RA dx and a new journey.

      So far, I am very, very lucky, the RA is mild, and symptoms are controlled by diet (I have Celiac Disease), exercise, lymph massage, physical therapy, weight loss, acupuncture. My Rheumatologist follows me closely, and for now, feels like I am doing well at keeping the inflammation, and hence the pain and damage under control. So, for now, she’s supporting me as I try this all natural path, and is there if I need a sounding board. And I always know that her 40 years of experience treating RA is there if I need it.

      Thanks again for checking in. It means a lot!

      Susan

      wovensongs

      September 5, 2011 at 8:10 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

