heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Please exit from the left, hope you enjoyed the ride…

leave a comment »

Thursday and Friday were good days, joints still improving, almost back to baseline, with just minimal stiffness in the morning and if I sit too long.

The lymph massage Wednesday night got the swelling in my left axillary under control, and since then I’ve lost 2 of the 3 pounds I gained from the last gluten exposure. Even after a year, it still amazes me when I see how the gluten causes me to swell, then the lymph massage helps to set things right again. I think lymph massage is  not well-known in the RA community. I’ve only heard of one other person using it when they flare, so don’t know if it would help others, but it does help me immensely.

I went back to the gym Friday after work. Made it around the indoor track for a mile. Ran 1 out of every 3 laps! Did 2 minutes on the bike and no knee pain – baby steps – one minute last week brought pain and bright red, hot knees –  so double my time and no symptoms is great! Then swam 5 laps before my feet started complaining. Stretched in the sauna and lazed in the hot tub. The best part – I was energized when I got home – not exhausted. That’s a new response to exercise. So, I am cautiously optimistic.

I have been off my thyroid meds for 11 days! It took over a year of stepping them down, blood work, stepping down again, over and over. It went like this: 124, 112, 100, 110/88 alternating days, 88, 88/75 alternating days, 75, 75/50 alternating days/ 50, then spaced the 50 out to every other day, then every third day & now I’m DONE – except for some final blood work in another 2 weeks, to assure my NP that it’s all good. She’s been very supportive, if skeptical throughout this. Letting me drive, but wanting blood work at every step along the way. After 6+ years on thyroid meds, I’m delighted they are a thing of the past! They were also adding to the edema, so I’m hopeful that I’ll see some additional changes there. PT2 noticed a change in my face this week said my eyes looked different, and when I told her I’d been off the thyroid meds, she thought that’s what she was seeing in my face.

And maybe, now that the thyroid meds are out of my system, the heart palpitations will finally be a thing of the past. (although I have my suspicions that caffeine may play a role there, too)

I spent the morning Saturday at the Farmer’s market, vending my art and visiting with friends. It was a delightfully cool morning and I enjoyed the socialization immensely.

I managed to get 7000+ steps logged on my step tyrant, and spent the rest of the day unpacking from my last trip, reading a great new book on the Appalachian trail, and trying some new cooking experiments.

I’ve wanted to do a thru hike on the Appalachian trail since I was in junior high when my brother & father did a week-long hike with their boy scout troop. My good friend is planning a thru hike this spring, so I’m enjoying hearing all about his preparations! For years I’ve thought I would do a thru hike when I retired, now with the RA diagnosis I move back and forth between believing I can get well enough to hike it and utter despair at the losses RA has caused.

So, a very good week, on the health front. And this particular roller coaster ride is officially over!

Written by wovensongs

September 10, 2011 at 1:43 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

