heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

A clean floor…

with 5 comments

I was all set to take a hike in the woods behind my house this morning, dressed in my hiking shorts, Icebreaker tank top and my Vibram 5-fingers. Walked into the kitchen for my morning coffee. The sun was streaming in the window, highlighting the kitchen floor. The oh so dirty, hasn’t been properly scrubbed in over 2 years, hasn’t even seen a mop in a month, kitchen floor.

I come from a long line of meticulous homemakers; my maternal grandmother lived with us. With two women in the house, neither of whom worked outside the home, there was plenty of woman power to keep things spotless.

In spite of working full-time, and being a single mom for many years, I’ve always aspired to their standards. Until two years ago – when RA, disguised as De Quervain’s tendonitis – stopped me in my tracks.

I bought my house six and a half years ago, and the kitchen floor has been my constant nemesis. The floor surface is made up of tens of thousands of little indentations which capture the dirt and grime and hold on for dear life. I’ve tried every brand of mop and cleaner on the market and the old-fashioned, hands and knees scrub brush is the only answer.

So, I walked into the kitchen, made my coffee, that lead to breakfast at the kitchen counter, and that led to staring at the dirty kitchen floor. The sun was dancing across the floor, highlighting every inch of it’s filthy surface. With sudden resolve, I abandoned my hike, changed into cleaning clothes, and mopped the floor between sips of coffee.

And then mopped it a second time.

An hour later and the floor was – well –  still really dirty. All I’d managed to do was turn the dirt into liquid which then allowed it to more easily settle into all those tens of thousand of little indentations. ERGH.

A normal person would have quit at this point, instead I got really serious. I collected my garden kneeling pad, my Plastic Superwoman Wrist Guards, my scrub brush, my favorite cleaning product, and a couple of dozen bar mops.

Properly attired, I filled the bucket with hot water and bar mops and attached the floor. I scrubbed, and rinsed for an hour. Then scrubbed a second time.

The floor was… well… not really clean… but certainly would pass for clean if you weren’t my Jewish grandmother!

And then I iced my wrists and hands and knees and ankles and elbows and took three Advil and rested for the remainder of the day.

The floor is clean… next time I’ll go for a hike instead!

I see a little robotic floor scrubber in my future.

Oh, and the 2 dozen bar mops – my favorite cleaning short cut. I always hated rising and wringing out a dirty cleaning cloth, and now, with RA, I don’t wring anything. Instead I use LOTS of cloths, and toss them in an empty bucket when they get a tab bit dirty, get a new cloth, and when I’m all done I throw the entire mess in the washer and dryer! I guess it’s my greener version of disposable cleaning cloths!

Written by wovensongs

September 11, 2011 at 2:58 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Not sure exactly what floor type you got going on there but have you tried a touch of bleach. Bleach works wonders. If you have a wood floor, you may want to consider getting it refinished for a better finish. And i use one of those steam mops. I have wood and tile floors throughout. It does great on the wood but just ok on the tile. They still need bleaching (tile) every so often. My hubby is kind enough to help with the bleaching part. I HATE cleaning with ra. It is like torture for me anymore. And the best thing in my book is to hire out for cleaning if you can afford it. We can’t unfortunately.

    deb aka murphthesurf

    September 12, 2011 at 4:14 am

    • Great ideas, I also am limited by budget, so no help there. I like the idea of a steam mop, do you have a particular brand you like?

      RA is changing my life so quickly, in so many ways, and mine is considered mild and well under control. My heart just breaks when I read some of the blogs.

      wovensongs

      September 12, 2011 at 6:02 pm

  2. This post made me laugh because I could definitely see myself doing something similar. 🙂

    How do you like your Five Fingers? I love wearing mine!

    Cathy

    September 13, 2011 at 8:10 am

    • Love is not a strong enough word for how I feel about my Five Fingers!

      Bought my first pair in March 2010, and have never gone back.

      I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve worn other shoes since. I wear then everywhere for everything – work, play, the gym, gardening, hiking, backpacking.

      I have 4 pair now, and have actually worn out my first pair!

      My baby toe, that was turned under and getting stepped on with every step, is now straight! So much better than the surgery, breaking and setting straight they wanted to do!

      And they are turning me into an extrovert – I can’t wear them in public without having at least one stranger become an instant friend 🙂

      I love your blog. It’s nice to read about someone else who’s doing alternative things with some success. Do you know other bloggers who are using alternative things?

      wovensongs

      September 13, 2011 at 5:40 pm

      • This is great to hear about the Five Fingers. I have only been wearing mine since December, and not exclusively, but my hammer toes already seem to be straightening out a bit. Plus they just feel so good on my feet. I get lots of comments on mine too! Yesterday the cashier at Trader Joes finished my order, looked down and started laughing. She said, “I love those shoes.”

        Thanks for reading my blog. It seems there are always a few people doing some alternative things but not as much as I would like to see. There is a blogger who writes exclusively about alternative treatments and has had huge success. I just can’t find her blog right now. I will send it to you as soon as I find it.

        Cathy

        September 16, 2011 at 8:48 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

