heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

A little detour

leave a comment »

I have a broken refrigerator, a new one is on order, we’ve been eating out of an ice chest for two weeks, and I didn’t plan well. So, on Monday there wasn’t much to take for lunch.

I had back to back meetings all day, with no chance to go to the store to grab something safely gluten-free.

By mid-day, I was flagging, and took a little detour into the canteen.

Usually, the only thing in there that is safely GF is one brand of chips. Of course, they were out of the plan potato chips. I choose the sweet potato chips, which had the fewest ingredients – sweet potatoes, oil, salt.

This is a brand that others on my gluten board have tested as negative for gluten. ONLY,  the bag I got was definitely NOT gluten-free…

Sigh.

I burped for hours. We call it the great gluten burp. It’s an amazing event. 4th grade boys love it!

Luckily, this time, that was my only immediate response. Followed right on time by my next set of symptoms, sleepy bug filled, bloodshot eyes with accompanying black trenches underneath – a real fashion statement! Then comes the dreaded “D” (see glossary in side bar). And the weight gain. 4 pounds – yes 4 – overnight. This continues to be one symptom I can’t see to fix. Whenever I get CCd, the edema gets worse and it takes a couple of weeks to get back to baseline.

Today, I was lucky. The cross contamination was minor, and the symptoms were mild. When it’s bad the symptoms can go on for twelve days. RLS, insomnia, brain fog, mild depression, crying jags, etc and when it’s REALLY bad I get DH blisters on my hands and the RA flares.

So, I feel like I dodged a bullet. I need to review my list of rules. I think one of them is to enjoy hunger as an interesting new sensation, and another is to always have a safe snack on hand. Wish I’d remembered those sooner!

Written by wovensongs

September 13, 2011 at 7:38 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

