heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Appalachian Trail

with 2 comments

Woke this morning with all systems go. Back to baseline, not perfect, but good enough.

I have thought about a thru hike on the Appalachian Trail since my older brother and father went with their scout troop when I was in junior high. I have two shelves of books on backpacking and the Appalachian Trail. It’s one of those dreams that has remained a constant. I always believed someday I would do a thru hike.

I will get a little taste of the trail this weekend and I am excited! Very, Very excited! We plan to camp at Hot Springs the first night, then backpack and camp on the trail the second night, and hike back to Hot Springs for the third night. It will be my maiden voyage on the AT and I am very excited, and a little scared! I read once that if you find something both exciting and scary, then that is probably something you should do. I’ve used this measure a lot in my life and find it most often holds true.

I have a friend who is planning a thru hike in 2012, and this will be a test run on equipment and trail food. We both have an extra challenge when it comes to backpacking, as we both need gluten-free food.

I’m taking tomorrow off to get ready, then spend three days hiking and camping, and Monday off to rest and unpack. I’ve finally learned that I need a day at each end of a trip to rest and get packed/unpacked. Just another little part of how I take care of myself in this new RA world.

So, no blogging for 5 days. Look for an update next week on how the mountains, backpacking, hiking and camping turn out!

Written by wovensongs

September 14, 2011 at 4:21 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am looking forward to hearing about your trip. Have fun!

    Cathy

    September 16, 2011 at 8:39 am

  2. cool…. I¿’m planning a thru too, just started a blog about it… hoping to dfind more soon 😀

    testingtesting123456789

    October 24, 2011 at 3:21 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

