heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Starbucks

with one comment

Still riding the weather roller coaster. Thursday in the mountains, was a good day. The drive was easy, I was slightly stiff getting out of the car when we stopped mid-way, but so were my traveling companions! As for RA, I was at baseline good.

And than came Friday, with a major weather change moving in. I was stiff and achy and sore everywhere, all day. Came back from a half day of classes and a 2.5 mile walk on gentle terrain, and had to rest and ice every joint and take Advil. I normally take nothing for the RA.

Saturday dawned bright and clear, and the RA monster had retreated. I attended class all day, took another 2.5 mile gentle walk around the lake, and everything remained at baseline.

Sunday, another bright, clear day, another 2.5 mile walk, then the ride home. The weather at home was similar to the mountains, and I was fine all day. Fine on Monday, too.

Today, although the weather remains steady, around mid afternoon I hit a wall. I left work early, and went home to rest, read, and recline and then to sleep by 8.

So, just as I was thinking that the roller coaster last week was all related to weather, something unexplainable by weather patterns happens.

I started weaning myself off coffee on Sunday, so maybe that’s it. How can I ever figure this out, when so many variables affect it?????

Sunday and Monday I cut back from three to two (16 oz) cups, Tuesday  cut back to one, so maybe that’s the trigger.

I’m having heart palpitations again, every night, and now sometimes in the day. Since I’ve been free of the Thyroid meds for over a month, I can’t blame those. Before I go back to the cardiologist for another check up, I want to get off the caffeine – since I know that’s the first thing she’ll recommend.

Tomorrow, I’ll split my one cup of coffee, half in the am, half in the afternoon, and see if that helps with the late afternoon fatigue. By the end of the week, I’ll be caffeine free – just think of the hit Starbucks will take – sell your stock now!

Written by wovensongs

October 4, 2011 at 6:45 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Of everything that I have given up, coffee was definitely the hardest. It was also one of the best choices I made. I used to be the person who said, “Coffee doesn’t affect me.” After I was completely off for two months, I begged my husband to buy me a coffee on his way home. After two drinks I could feel the caffeine flowing through my body – not in a good way. Also, I realized it gave me stomach issues that I remembered but just thought was who I am. It took almost six more years to get completely off! Good luck to you. This is a great step!

    Cathy

    October 6, 2011 at 8:50 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

