heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Balancing act

with 2 comments

The packing is going well. I’ve been carrying boxes and moving heavy things and managing to pace myself and not make the RA flare. Construction should start tomorrow.

Pacing for RA is a skill that I’m still learning. It does seem to be one of the keys to keeping the flares at bay. Do too much and pay. Do to little and pay. Too much standing, too little standing, too much sitting, too little sitting, too much moving, too little moving. Such a balancing act. Maybe I can run away and join the circus!

I’ve had a headache for 4 days. And I rarely get headaches. It’s a strange headache, too. Coffee doesn’t touch it. Three Advil doesn’t touch it. It’s gone in the morning, and returns after breakfast. I’m beginning to think its food related. So, maybe today I’ll fast, just to see if I can get a day with no headache. Maybe that will break the pattern. It does give me something to thing about besides which joints are stiff and swollen. My feet – always my feet. I’m thinking about trying to sleep in my Vibram Five Fingers (VFFs) and see if that does anything for the ball of the foot and the toe swelling – act a bit like a compression bandage to keep the edema at bay. Maybe also get a foam wedge to elevate my feet at night.

I’m moving well today, in spite of the storm front. It came in while I was sleeping, so maybe I slept through the pre-storm RA flare. Maybe I’ll test that hypothesis when the next storm rolls through. Take a nice long nap about the time the RA flare is due!

Written by wovensongs

October 11, 2011 at 7:59 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Your headache might be coming from your neck. Since you are moving alot of boxes, I am suspecting you are using your arms/shoulders/neck area. Just putting my two cents into the mix 🙂

    deb aka abcsofra

    October 11, 2011 at 10:05 am

    • Thanks for the idea – that’s one I hadn’t considered – I’m finding that hearing from the RA community is a great benefit of blogging!

      PT1 has been working on my neck for a few weeks now, when she does my lymph massage. The local docs call her “the joint whisperer” and my neck is much less creaky and poppy for a few days after I see her. Need to make sure I don’t undo all her work while I’m moving things. I will pay even more attention to what I’m doing.

      wovensongs

      October 12, 2011 at 6:24 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

