heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Making room

leave a comment »

The great project is going well. The large storage closet is empty, and ready for DS to install clothes bars on his day off. He’s busy with working 4 days a week, attending classes 3, and studying in between, so is not on point for much this time around.  There’s one more load of boxes stacked by the door, ready to take to the storage unit. With all the art, books, lamps and tchotchkes packed, we’re ready to move the furniture and build walls! The “blue print” is drawn, the shopping list made and when it stops raining, we’ll get the lumber. I think we’re ahead of schedule.

Winter is just around the corner and the annual mouse migration has begun. I live “in the county”, as we say around here, on 2 1/2 acres. One good cat is no match for the mouse population, no matter how hard she tries. Last night, DD2 picked up a basket of knitting, and started to sort through the yarn. There was a  mouse was calmly sitting in the basket, staring at her with his beady little eyes. Just like in the cartoons, she shrieked, jumped, and flung the basket across the room! And this is the girl who caught lizards and walked around with them on her shirt all day when she was 2, had a pet iguana as a preteen, and smuggled her baby pet rat in her pocket on an airplane trip! She say’s it’s the surprise factor that gets her, and their beady little eyes.

I’ve lived in this house for six years, the longest I’ve lived anywhere in the past twenty. So, I was long overdue for a major sorting out. It’s been a good exercise to go through and purge things before putting them in storage. And I know from past experience, when I unpack them after several months, I’ll purge even more. I feel lighter, somehow.

The storm front moved in yesterday, with soft cool rain all day and night. We need the moisture, my garden is weeping for joy, and my joints are behaving!

I’ve lost a pound this week.

Cut my coffee consumption down to 4 ounces a day and jettisoned the last dairy from my diet – again. Dairy seems like the hardest thing to give up. Much harder than wheat, oats, barley, rye.

Yesterday was day five of the mystery headache. Each day it’s a little less, in both intensity and duration. At least it’s moving in the right direction.

The heart palpitations continue. In addition to feeling them when I lay down at night, I now wake to their symphony in the morning. I don’t notice them when I nap during the day. Probably because I have perfected the 10 minute nap over the past 30 years – I fall asleep before my head hits the pillow!

Guess it really is time for that cardiology appointment. I had a full work up 3 years ago, wore a monitor for almost a month. Although the palpitations were so bad one day they called me and said “come to the office immediately” all the tests showed nothing and the palpitations were blamed on my thyroid meds. Now that I no longer take the thyroid meds, they’ll have to find something else to blame.

 

 

 

 

 

Written by wovensongs

October 12, 2011 at 7:19 am

Posted in Edema, Joints, Family

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

