heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Back to bed?

with 4 comments

The big move is going well. I have one more box to pack and the studio will be empty. One more cabinet and the bathroom will be empty. One more trip to the storage unit. Things are going well at the other end. The truck will be here sometime Monday. I went to sleep last night feeling like it was all under control, slept well, lingered in bed listening to music for an hour this morning, watched the sunrise through my window. All was well.

After a short stop in the loo, I headed for the kitchen and coffee. Yes, I know I was in the middle of quitting, but maybe now is not the time. Or maybe that’s just my excuse, I do love my morning coffee. I admit it – I’ve relapsed. Sigh.

Back to my story.

Feeling optimistic about today’s time line, I waltzed down the hall and wandered into a set from Little Shop of Horrors. Apparently, as I slept blissfully, DDS had moved all the plants from the front porch into the living room and dining room. Without waking me; which is amazing, because my three windows face the porch where the plants have lived all summer, and I had the windows open. Guess I did sleep well last night!

We have lots of houseplants. We have my houseplants. We have DXH’s houseplants. And now we have DD1’s houseplants. I didn’t realize DXH had been bringing car loads of plants back each week as he went north to help DD1 pack. The jungle that met me this morning was amazing. and disconcerting. They’ve all been on the porch, growing at an enormous rate under DXH’s green thumb, and I hadn’t figured them into my greater plan. Where will they all go?????

Still needing coffee, I wove my way through the jungle, and hit the kitchen light switch – damn, what next. One of the two lights was dead. Now, I’ve lived in this house for 6 years, and never changed the bulbs in that fixture, so this should be no surprise, but really, today. I just don’t have the time or energy to deal with 4 foot long, fluorescent light bulbs in the ceiling. It requires a ladder, then taking the bulbs out to check the size, a trip to the hardware store 20 miles away, then the old bulbs have to go to the dump for proper disposal, and the dump has shortened their hours and is never open when I can go.

I burst into tears, and then into laughter. Murphy strikes again!

p.s. As I sat here editing this, the lens popped right out of my glasses. Think I’ll go back to bed.

 

 

 

 

 

Written by wovensongs

October 30, 2011 at 9:41 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I swear, I swear! I have not been at it again 🙂 My last name is Murphy by the way 🙂 And things tend to come in threes….so all should be well now. About the houseplants, you might want to see if neighbors or local friends might not want to adopt one of two. And if you can’t move them, call a nursery or even flower shop and see if they wouldn’t adopt them from you. For free of course. When we moved (and this has been many, many times over the years) these are the tips I used for my house plants. Moving them can be difficult with the dirt and all and I tend to collect trees for inside a home and they are almost impossible to move. And we also moved long distance and I felt the ride would have killed them anyway. Wish I lived nearby, I love plants too 🙂

    deb aka abcsofra

    October 30, 2011 at 3:55 pm

    • I’m still chuckling from your reply!

      Good ideas on the houseplants – except they are all pets – and we will have to stretch the walls and bring them in to stay the winter.

      One is a shamrock a neighbor gave me over 30 years ago. She called it a friendship plant, and we have divided it many, many times and given starts away. It is amazing. I even have some of it planted in my garden, and it comes back no matter how many times the deer eat it or how cold the winter gets! There’s a philodendron that belonged to my kids grandmother, who has been gone 30 years, and had it for at least 10 years before that. It used to line the arch to her kitchen! It can’t be killed, no matter how I neglect it!

      If I get to Wilmington in the spring, I will have to bring you a bit of the friendship plant & we can have a spot of tea and talk about plants. Would be fun to meet someone else who shares this funny journey we are on.

      I hope you have a wonderful week.

      wovensongs

      October 30, 2011 at 7:53 pm

  2. You will for sure have to bring me a clipping in the spring. I am the Wilmington in NC. Many confuse us with another Wilmington. I would love to see you in person 🙂 And we could do two of my favorite places together here…Airlie Garden and Wilmington Arboretum which are both close to each other. Airlie does require some bit of walking but there is a tram of sorts and I could make sure it is available for a driven tour. But we would have to figure out a way to get you to my favorite “secret garden spot” there the glass garden. I would have to take pictures of you there 🙂 I have never heard of plants referred to as pets…lol! Yes, if love has been making them grow, you must keep them for sure.

    deb aka abcsofra

    November 1, 2011 at 2:53 am

    • Morning Deb,

      I am in NC about two hours from you. I live in “the county” near Carrboro/Chapel Hill. It’s 10 minutes to 40 and then a straight shot. I lived in Wilmington for a year in 1989, and try to get back there once each year to walk the beach, but it’s been a couple of years now.

      I’ve not been to the gardens, so that sounds exciting! We’ll have to shoot for the best flower time.

      Hope you are well this day!

      wovensongs

      November 1, 2011 at 7:21 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

