heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Love/Hate

with 2 comments

I used to love fixing Thanksgiving dinner. I used to do the whole thing, from start to finish, all by myself and loved every minute of it. Whether it was 4 or 24, I always fixed a feast.

I can’t do that anymore. Now, it’s just one more loss to RA.

I’ve pared it down to its bare essentials one pie instead of three, one kind of cranberry sauce instead of three, baked sweet potatoes instead of candied, one kind of stuffing instead of two, a steamed veggie instead of a the traditional casserole, no relish tray, no liver pâté (my childhood favorite).

Yesterday, it looked almost like a normal dinner instead of a feast. Turkey, stuffing, gravy, mashed and sweet potatoes, green beans, cranberry sauce and rolls, pie with whipped cream.

I prepped the Turkey, diced the onion and celery for the stuffing, made the gravy and the pie crust, gave instructions to all my helpers, set the table and kept the dishes under control. That’s not much. DS, DD1 and FSIL did all the rest.

We all slept in, and I made one trip to the grocery store for the turkey. Cooking only started at 10, and we were eating by 6. I took two naps where I actually fell asleep for a half hour, and two other, feet up rests, and by 7:00 I was too tired to even sit at the table. I ached all over, but my back hurt so much I could not force myself to sit up another second.

So, I went to bed and slept like a top, and today I feel normal again.

I HATE THIS strange disease that has taken over my life.

 

Written by wovensongs

November 27, 2011 at 8:20 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As the disease comes more under control, you’ll feel normal more often and be able to do the whole feast. Hang in there.

    WarmSocks

    November 28, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    • Thanks for the pep talk. Some days this is a lonely journey, and so difficult to describe to others that haven’t walked this path. Seems like an integral part of dealing with this is going to be the online friendships and conversations. The RA community is made of such amazing people. I get strength from all of you!

      wovensongs

      November 29, 2011 at 7:41 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

