heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

the good, the bad, and the ugly

leave a comment »

First the good news.

I’ve worn glasses for distant vision since 6th grade. My eyes have never been really bad, just enough that I need them to drive and go to the movies, see the blackboard or overhead projector, recognize people’s faces from a distance. So, I worn then as little as possible or as much as necessary. The script got stronger over the years, but was still not very strong. The past year my vision has been improving. I found myself getting a headache if I wore my glasses much, and eventually dug an old pair out of the back of a drawer, and started wearing those or none at all. Six years ago, my retina tore and I had successful retina surgery. So now I see the retina doctor once a year, for a check up. She always starts with a regular eye exam, and was she surprised when my distant vision was a wonderful 20/20! She was surprised when I told her that I thought it was related to gluten, and that there was a bit of chat on the gluten boards from others who experience improved eye site after going gluten-free. It is doubly impressive in my case, because I have a plastic buckle around my eye to change its shape (because of the retina surgery). The buckle always causes eye site to get worse. So, I’m celebrating something going right in my health today.

Next the bad.

I got glutened, again. Badly glutened. Tons of itchy DH blisters, a splitting headache, the lovely “D” and a spontaneous nose bleed. I haven’t gotten glutened bad enough for one of those in several months. The only obvious suspect is the drugs the eye doc used to anesthetized and dilate my eyes. Breakfast was leftovers from turkey day, lunch was leftovers from turkey day, and dinner was pork, baked potato, butter and broccoli from my garden. Nothing that should have got me, and DS and DD1 both seem ok. So, now I have to call the eye doc, get the name of the drugs, track down the manufacturer and see if they can confirm or deny. Such an annoying way to spend my time. But, I need to have my eyes checked once a year, and they can’t do that without the drugs. ERG!

And the ugly.

My ability to taste is fading quickly, right along with my ability to smell. Today, I added 5 TABLESPOONS of sugar to my coffee, before it had even a hint of sweetness to it. Guess its going to be easier than I thought to give up coffee and sugar. Since I can’t smell the coffee and can’t taste the sugar, there’s not much point. So, tomorrow I’ll take some Advil and ditch the coffee for once and for all. I don’t have any other sweets in my life that I eat regularly, so it should be a non-event.

I’m working hard to keep a sunshiny attitude about this. Christmas is around the corner, along with a long weekend visit with a dear friend, and my daughter’s 2 week visit. I don’t have the energy worry about this now. And if I can’t taste anything anyway, it should be easy to lose the weight I need to lose! Gotta look for those silver linings!

 

Written by wovensongs

December 2, 2011 at 9:15 am

Posted in Autoimmune

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

