heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Life is never fair…

with one comment

I set up my booth at the farmer’s market this morning, then strolled around to see who was there and what they had to sell. This time of year, there are fewer produce farmers, so we have some temporary vendors who fill in.

Today, there was a new vendor, selling bread. As I ventured past his booth, I inhaled the wonderful aroma of freshly baked bread. The baker had used a pan that left a design in the bread crust, it looked like a crown make of bread and was quite beautiful.

I was thoroughly engrossed in and enjoying the experience for a few seconds.

And then I burst into tears.

Each day I discover something new that I can no longer smell. Of all the things in the world to be able to still smell, wheat bread would be the last thing I would choose. Since I have Celiac Disease, I will never again eat wheat bread. To be able to smell it, when I can no longer smell my coffee, or my roses or the pine trees or the good garden dirt, seems so unfair.

But, as I told my children when they were little – life is many marvelous things, but it is never, ever, ever fair.

So, I walked around the market a second time, so I could enjoy the wonderful aroma of freshly baked bread.

I hope your day is filled with delicious scents and delectable aromas.

 

 

Written by wovensongs

December 10, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Posted in Gluten

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I have always told my children the very same thing. Life IS not fair…but it is so, so, so much more!!!
    Blessings to you as you make your way through this life, along this journey, in sweet times and in times of sadness. It is only in the dark that light can be seen. It is only when cold that we feel the comfort of a warm blanket. Maybe, just maybe, it is the smell of freshly baked bread that brings true joy. Just maybe…

    Theresa

    December 10, 2011 at 9:24 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

