heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Happy New Year

with 2 comments

The tree is down, the guests are gone, I am back to work, and life is settling into a normal routine. I hope you all had a wonderful holiday season, filled with fun laughter and love.

RA has been kind to me these past few weeks. I have had mild aches, a little additional edema, and some extra fatigue – all ebbing and flowing with the constant barometric changes. For the most part,  RA was a minor inconvenience during the holiday season. I was able to keep up with the constant festivities, and even able to stay up late to have more time with DD2. Two weeks – the longest visit we’ve had since she left for Oregon so many years ago. We had a wonderful time.

I finally got my blood work results this week. All the lupus tests are normal, the MRI was normal, there’s no indication of any infection or blockage in my sinuses. So, I join many others in a diagnosis of “duh, we don’t have a clue” as to why you are losing your sense of smell and taste. Seems that is the dx in about 85% of these cases. So, unless I develop some other symptoms, I am declaring this one of life’s little mysteries, and enjoying lots of what I can smell and taste! My thyroid tests were not quite right, so I am back on the thyroid meds. There is some chance that there is a connection between the thyroid and the smell loss, so maybe that will fix things. As meds go, levothyroxine is pretty benign, with a long history of use, so I’ll take it for a while and see what happens.

Had my yearly eye exam, and I have gone from being nearsighted to being farsighted – no wonder my glasses were giving me fits! I’ve read that there is some anecdotal reporting of a connection between going gluten-free and improved eye sight. Maybe it’s a trade-off for the loss of smell – whatever it is, I’m happy that something is improving!

My 2012 new years resolution – no doctor’s appointments…

Written by wovensongs

January 5, 2012 at 8:45 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wonderful to hear that you managed through the holidays without too much pain! So often, this is not the case!
    Ahhh….the mystery diagnosis!! Any more, I don’t even go in with any hopes of actually knowing what is going on, I more go in with the intent to find out what’s NOT going on. In other words, I go in to make sure there are no major issues looming out there and if they can’t find anything, well then, just chalk it up to the craziness of autoimmune diseases! I often find that many of my issues kind of come and go. When I look back over my notes to various doctors, many times I find myself saying, “oh ya, that’s right…I was having that…” and somewhere along the line it just went away. The ones that stick around for a couple of years without diagnosis…I just keep bringing them up at my appointments and maybe some day they will learn something from me. Who knows!?!
    Take care! And good luck with your New Year’s resolution!!

    Theresa Johnson

    January 11, 2012 at 10:54 am

    • Thanks for the words of wisdom, Theresa. That’s the approach I’m taking this go round. All the truly bad things that could be ruled out have been, so it is just another autoimmune mystery. I too notice that things come and go, with no plausible explanation.

      Your recent post was beautiful. I’m so glad you got to enjoy that beautiful day. You are an inspiration!

      wovensongs

      January 12, 2012 at 6:47 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

