heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Ever feel like a penguin?

leave a comment »

This has been a strange winter, filled with constant weather changes. Every time the weather shifts, I get “hit” with a flare.

This weekend I felt great. Went for an hour hike with 30 pounds in my pack three days in a row. Did all my normal house stuff, slept like a baby, all joints were at a 0 to 1, edema under control, no burning, aching, swelling, shooting pains or any of the other tricks RA pulls.

And then the front started my way. I could feel it building as I cooked dinner. Within an hour of the first twinge, I was at a dead stop. Had to call in the troops to get things out of the oven, carry things to the table, do the dishes. I must have looked bad – my daughter offered to feed me 🙂 At least I’ve finally learned this lesson. I no longer think it’s wise to just power through and do it all myself. Went to bed at 8 and slept 11 hours. Woke yesterday in a better place. The front had arrived, and the weather turned to sunny and warm.

And then the whole thing started again. I wasn’t even back to base, standing upright. There was another front on its way, with rain due by late evening. As the rain approached, the aches grew worse, the rain arrived, the aches started to back off.

And then the whole thing started again. There’s another front moving the rain out and more sunshine in, and I’m at the aching place, again, for the third time in 36 hours.

I feel like this guy, constantly being pushed and pummeled  by the weather. I just need to remember, that like this guy, I will bounce back. Eventually. The weather will even out for a day or two, and just like my happy penguin friend, I’ll stay upright for a time.

Written by wovensongs

January 18, 2012 at 7:27 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

