heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

106

with 2 comments

The number of medical appointments I had in 2011, an average of  more than 2 a week. And that doesn’t count trips to the pharmacy, calls to get lab or x-ray results, stops at the offices to pick up x-rays/lab results, calls to make, change, cancel appointments, time spent checking EOBs, checking bills, paying bills, filing insurance. No wonder I feel like all I did last year was deal with medical stuff. Here’s the list, the last item is the most significant.

1 yearly check up with my Retina doc for my repaired retina

1 yearly exam with eye doc

1 trip to get glasses (didn’t count the other trips to have them adjusted/repaired throughout the year)

1 ENT exam for smell tests

1 yearly dermatologist exam

1 cavity filled

1 MRI to look for bad things that might have caused the smell problem

1 set of x-rays to get baseline for hands/feet/spine

2 yearly checkups at dentist

4 sets of labs

4 trips to the nutritionist

7 visits to primary care physician

21 visits to the acupuncturist

26 visits to the physical therapist

35 visits to the other physical therapist who specializes in edema/lymph massage

ONE (yes, ONE ) visit to the Rheumatologist

The Rheumatologist was happy with the base line x-rays, the lab numbers and the extensive physical exam she did. She told me to come back if I needed her, otherwise to check in next year!

So, all the diet and exercise and alternative therapies are working.

I don’t want to spend so much time and effort in therapy, so I’m spacing my appointments out for now. Trying to wean myself off the therapists and see what happens.

I hope to spend this year playing and laughing and having fun, instead of sitting in medical offices! Wish me luck.

 

 

 

Written by wovensongs

January 21, 2012 at 11:08 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wowzie! That is a lot. Wishing good health and lots of fun adventures in 2012.

    Cathy

    January 21, 2012 at 11:27 am

  2. Good Luck. You deserve it!

    Oddbird

    January 22, 2012 at 9:46 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

