heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

VFT???

with one comment

My VFF boots finally arrived! They look blue, but are really black.

 

My new boots!

I’m prepping for 5 days on the AT in February. My BFF is starting a thru-hike on the 18th and I get to come along for the first 5 days! I’m so excited. I’ve tested gear for a month; we’re on the countdown now.

Took the boots out for a trial hike yesterday. 1.5 hours with a 25 pound pack, and all is well. I had to go down two sizes, from a woman’s 42 to a man’s 40, but they fit well. I wore Injinji wool socks, the temp was 35, and my feet were warm. Hooray! I’m going to waterproof them with sno-seal today, and then try them in the rain.

I also bought a pair of Neos Villager Overshoes, which work well over the boots, make them warmer and truly puddle and snow proof. I hope I don’t need the Neos on the trail, and it doesn’t look like we will get snow here this winter, so don’t know if/when I’ll get to trial them. I did use them in the rain, with my VFF classics, and they kept my feet dry and warm.

I have worn my VFFs exclusively for 23 months now, and my feet are very happy. I still have swelling in the smallest two toes, occasionally on both feet, always in baby toe on left, and occasional swelling in balls of feet. Compared to a year ago, or two years ago, my feet are amazingly pain-free, my arches are strong, my toes are straighter and morning stiffness is almost a thing of the past. Hooray for VFFs!

Wonder what the equivalent would be for my poor achy fingers 🙂

Written by wovensongs

January 23, 2012 at 7:55 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. How about a photo? I have found that 35 works fine with my VFF when wearing wool Injinji socks,

    I am really excited for your hike. This is awesome! I hope you will post all about it. I often think of you when I am out on my walks. 🙂

    Cathy

    January 23, 2012 at 4:03 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

