heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

A new beginning

with 2 comments

This morning started with a surprise.

A sharp pain in my left shoulder jolted me awake.

I had rolled unto my side during the night, and much of my weight was on my shoulder. Now, I usually sleep on my side at some point in the night, so this was nothing new. But the pain, both in level and quality was new. A new pain, in a new place, and at a new level.

Took a few minutes to even figure out how to roll off my shoulder without causing more pain.

Even with the little “weather flares” that have rolled in and out (and in and out, and in and out, ad nauseam for weeks), all the aches have remained within a window of familiarity.

The weather change seems to cause two things: extreme fatigue (an instant feeling of having hit the wall) and a general stiffness in all joints. This shoulder pain was new, different, more clearly defined.

Lay all cozy and warm and started a body scan. That’s something I haven’t had to do in several months.

Hands, swollen stiff. Right wrist, new, sharper ache; pale in comparison to the shoulder, but different from in the past. Balls of feet, felt swollen (and I was still lying in bed). Baby toe,  normal ache.  Hips, ribs, elbows, all achy. Left knee, a new, deeper ache.

I am swollen all over, my rings don’t fit for the first time in months, and have gained two pounds in the past two days, 5 pounds in the past week. Getting glutened does that to me. I had a lymph massage Tuesday night, but that hasn’t made a dent in the edema.

I’m achy all over, with new and different pains in new places. Drat it all. And my AT hike is 3 weeks away.

Lay in bed some more stretching and traveling down the causation path.

The weather is supposed to change today, rain later. But nothing drastic, certainly not any different from the past few weeks. But this could be a cumulative effect of many weather changes.

I got glutened a few days ago, that could be it.

I may have gotten glutened again last night when I friend kissed me on the lips as we said goodbye, then realized she had eaten trail mix. No obvious gluten ingredients, but risky just the same.

I had cream cheese on a GF english muffin that morning, two cups of coffee with half and half (we were out of cream), a slice of cheese at bed time. That’s more dairy than I normally eat in a week. That definitely looks suspicious. Many people say that dairy makes their RA worse. I just haven’t been willing to make yet another dietary change. Until today.

So, I’m on my way to the gym, to sit in the sauna and bake my joints. My morning coffee will be black. There’s an ice pack in my lunch bag, and no lunch. I think a fast day is in order. Give all my systems a chance to rest.

Today, like every day, is a new beginning. Maybe I have one more piece to the RA puzzle.

Written by wovensongs

January 26, 2012 at 7:29 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here’s a great post by one of my gluten free friends. You might find it interesting. http://theglutenfreedish.blogspot.com/2012/01/making-diet-and-life-changes-for-better.html

    I have found through a lot of trial and error that gluten free is not enough for me. I have to be grain free too. And yes, dairy free. They all create havoc on my digestion which in turn creates havoc on my joints.

    Good luck in this new beginning. May you find that missing puzzle piece!

    Cathy

    January 26, 2012 at 8:33 am

  2. Cathy,

    That is a great post, thanks for sending it.

    I loved the visual and the fact that it isn’t linear. A great visual of something I’ve know intuitively, but never really thought about. Most change is exactly like that. A few steps forward a few back, circling around, but eventually finding my way.

    Some days I’m a slow learner 🙂

    wovensongs

    January 27, 2012 at 9:45 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

