heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Spring has sprung

with 5 comments

Spring is early in Central North Carolina and I am ready to be done with this winter of endless little flares. Normally the daffodils bloom around mid-March. A friend had daffodils blooming at his house on New Years day this year; mine are in a colder spot, and bloomed on Friday, at least six weeks early. I predict a very confused groundhog later this week!

I hiked for 3 hours yesterday, with a full pack, and then really paid for it the rest of the evening. This morning I am back to normal, all joints a go. So, was it the hiking, or yet another weather front that got me last night. This is certainly an interesting puzzle.

Re-organizing the pack this morning, trying to reduce weight. The menu is set, the shuttle is set, I’ll be stepping on the Appalachian Trail on February 17, for 7 nights, 7 1/2 days of hiking. Springer to however far the weather will let me get. I’m so lucky to have a hiking partner who is willing to hike at my pace. Who will have my back (and my pack) if RA shows its ugly side. And who will do more than his share of the camp chores. A great set-up for my first long trip! I’m one lucky gal to have such a great friend.

 

 

 

Written by wovensongs

January 29, 2012 at 10:02 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hope the hike goes beautifully for you. And please pack a camera as I will be expecting lots of pics once you get back home and settled back in 🙂

    deb aka abcsofra

    January 29, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    • My hiking partner is a photographer, so I should have wonderful pics, even if I’m not the one snapping them 🙂 We found a great Iphone app that pins your photo to a map using gps magic. I’m going to try that out, too.

      wovensongs

      January 30, 2012 at 6:57 am

  2. I am SOOO excited for you. Hey, how are the VFF boots feeling? What are they like around the calves?

    Cathy

    January 29, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    • Hi Cathy,

      Boots are doing well. Taking a little time to get used to the different sole. They have the kso trek sole and my others have the classic sole. My toes aren’t sure about the “bumps” on the sole, but I’m getting there. They are a little lose around the calf (I’m assuming men’s legs are heavier than mine), but that doesn’t seem to be a problem. I’m going to wear them to work this week, although I will keep my classics in the car in case they get too hot!

      wovensongs

      January 30, 2012 at 6:56 am

      • I wear the KSO’s all the time. It has even been warm enough here lately for me to wear them out on my walks with Izzy. So nice to be back in them. Looking forward to hearing how they do on the hike.

        Cathy

        February 5, 2012 at 11:21 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

