heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

RA has improved my life

with 3 comments

I woke this morning, did my normal body scan, with delightful results. I can make a fist, my hands feel strong, my ankles don’t ache, my toes aren’t hot, the balls of my feet aren’t puffy, the lava flowing from my elbow to my axillary has cooled to an ashy warmth, barely noticeable, I can wear my rings, I can button my jeans.

The storms have passed (literally), there is sunshine ahead, and my body is responding. My joints are happy, the edema is retreating, the lava flow has stopped. The flare is over.

What a difference a day can make.

After my normal morning rituals, I logged on this blog to find a wonderful, loving comment from my friend Cathy. And I sit here, now, with tears rolling down my cheeks.

In his Real Profiles of RA, RA guy asks : “How has living with RA helped to improve your life”. Until today, I felt stymied for an answer to that question.

Thanks to Cathy and Deb and Teresa and RA guy and several other bloggers who don’t even know that I devour their words, I now know how RA has enriched my life.

I have begun to build a whole community of virtual friends, friends who understand, who shine a light to show the way, who empathize, and sympathize, who teach by example, who share their strength and experience, and are strong enough to also share their pain.

Two years ago, I sat alone and cried, feeling hopeless in my pain, not knowing what was wrong, not knowing where to turn.

Today, I cry happy tears, for the strength and love of the RA community I have found. Together we are strong. Thank you, my friends.

Written by wovensongs

February 6, 2012 at 7:35 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This was such a beautiful post, and I am so happy for you. Finding our way along this journey is difficult at best – but in the end, always worth it. Your words inspire….thank you.

    Theresa

    February 6, 2012 at 9:07 am

  2. And together we WILL stay strong. I have so enjoyed your blog and following you and like you I do appreciate the internet friends I have made. Blogging is so much more rich (at least to me) then facebook. And although I do use facebook once in awhile, blogging seems like a fully blossomed flower to me. It allows me to get to know people like you through your blog. Keep on blogging, so I can keep watching your flower bloom 🙂

    deb aka abcsofra

    February 6, 2012 at 3:46 pm

  3. I have learned that my celiac improved my life, too. The largest improvement was in my capability for compassion. While not suffering on your level I am sure, nevertheless, before discovering of what was wrong, I suffered at the hands of rude and cruel physicians, ached all over, swollen joints, hair falling out, weight gain, then weight loss, fatigue, face swollen each day, mouth sores… It took a year to feel good, 5 years to really feed consistently good. I have heard many, many people say that after 10 years gluten free, most of their RA symptoms abated greatly. I pray this happens for you. Thank you for stopping by my site. I will report on the chicks and feeding very soon. Thank you for your encouragement. Together, we can all do this!! Hoorah for us!!

    CurtissAnn

    February 12, 2012 at 1:33 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

