heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

And the adventure begins

with one comment

I was up early today. Emptied my pack and re-packed it. Double and triple checking my list. Didn’t want to forget some critical piece of gear on my first real backpacking adventure.

Met my hiking buddy at the airport at noon. He had a HUGE bag of food for me to add to my already heavy pack. Oh, my!

We started the leisurely drive to GA. The plan was to drive about half way, spend the night in a hotel, check our gear and packs one last time, get up early and drive the rest of the way to the Hiker Hostel. We were to park my car at the hostel and get a shuttle to the trail head around mid-day. A nice easy pace, with plenty of extra time built-in to enjoy the first leg of the journey.

Around 2 we called the hostel to double-check the schedule only to find that our shuttle was rescheduled for an early morning departure. That called for a quick change in plans. Cancelled the hotel, made a new reservation in a town near the hostel.

So much for our leisurely drive. We drove the whole way Thursday night. Got to the hotel, ate a quick meal, checked our gear and fell into bed.

The silver lining: we can enjoy a whole day on the trail tomorrow, instead of the planned half day!

Written by wovensongs

February 16, 2012 at 11:10 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wishing you God speed on this new adventure 🙂

    deb aka abcsofra

    March 3, 2012 at 3:03 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

