heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Three Forks to Horse Gap

with 2 comments

Day 2 dawned misty and cool. I had slept well, and was ready for our next hike. I did some yoga stretches in my sleeping bag while Oddbird fixed the coffee. So nice to have my chief along.

We bundled up. It was cold and damp, but I was happy and feeling good. Yesterday the hike was .9 miles uphill, and then the rest was all downhill. A great way to start my trip. Today started with a gentle uphill climb, then Lunch at Hawk Mountain Shelter, where we met another thru-hiker, Dave aka Hawkeye. Had a nice visit, a great lunch, and were off again.

The world looked like this for most of the day. The hike was gentle ups and downs on the slopping mountainside.  By 4, we had hiked 5.4 miles, and I was ready for dinner, a foot rub, and bed. We were talking about going further, because there was a storm coming and we didn’t want to camp on the side of the mountain. We were considering either another half mile downhill to the bottom of Horse Gap, or to push past Horse Gap and on an extra mile to the top of Sassafras Mountain. We had been looking for a tent site for almost an hour, I was getting tired, and there were no good sites in view.

And that’s when we had our first trail magic. A day hiker came along, told us that our best bet for a good camp site was right around the bend, there were several, and one even had a fire laid and waiting for a match! He told us Horse Gap would be wet if the storm came through, and that there were no camping spots between Horse Gap and the top of Sassafras Mountain.

We thanked him and set out to find this magical place.

The campsite was right around the bend…

We arrived to find a fire laid, awaiting a well placed match. There was plenty of kindling and split wood to keep our small fire burning all evening.

I lit the campfire, while Oddbird pitched the tent and cooked dinner! We ate sitting on a log in front of the campfire, which warmed us from the long days hike. The food nourished us. The woods fed our souls. We were content.

We had just finished eating when the rain began. A quick stir to the dying embers and we dove for the tent.

I slept 13 hours that night to the sound of gentle rain pattering against the tent fly. The woods are good for me.

Written by wovensongs

February 18, 2012 at 5:57 pm

Posted in Hiking

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Keep the updates coming!

    Cathy

    March 3, 2012 at 10:05 pm

  2. Makes me miss my days in the BWCA! So, so beautiful. The woods are my favorite place to be….so thank you for sharing your journey!

    Theresa Johnson

    March 3, 2012 at 10:13 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

