heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Home again

with one comment

Today dawned misty and cold and matched my mood. I felt sad to leave my friend behind. Wished I could be hiking off into the wilderness with him.

We got up early, drove back to Neel Gap, had a quick breakfast together and then I watched him hike until he was out of sight. One last wave and I was on my own.

I stopped into the outfitters to use the rest room before I headed out. I had a 7 hour drive home. I still ached and hurt, but I’d slept well for two nights, so I was past the exhaustion and merely really tired.

 

Spending 7 hours driving on the interstate after spending 7 days hiking in the woods, was bizarre beyond describing.

The trip was an amazing experience. I realized just how much I love being in nature, how much I want to incorporate more outdoor time into my life. I spent the entire drive thinking about ways to change my life, so I could be outdoors more and take more hikes in the woods.

I also spent a lot of time thinking about how, if I want to hike and backpack, I have to figure out how to do it without bringing on the exhaustion and pain of an RA flare.

 

Written by wovensongs

February 25, 2012 at 9:37 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Welcome home!! It’s been wonderful accompanying you on your journey!!

    Theresa Johnson

    April 6, 2012 at 10:03 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

