heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Here comes Peter Cotton Tail

with one comment

It’s not yet Easter, but if my experiment is successful, I’m going to be dying eggs soon!

A dozen eggs in 24 hours, and no adverse reactions. Have to wait two days, as sometimes there can be a delayed reaction, everybody is different. The eggs were yummy – local, organic, free range, with bright yellow yolks – like the eggs from my childhood. Why did we ever start this nightmare of factory farming????

Joints were happy all day. Everybody’s back to a .5 – 1. Took a month for my feet to forgive me for the 36 mile hike. But now that they have, it was worth it. Scary at the time. I think that’s the worst part of RA – not knowing what will happen next. How long will it take to heal? Will it heal?

Edema is receding, again. When I measured on Sunday, I was almost back to January’s measurements. There’s still lumps and globs in my upper thighs. Still little pillows on the top of my wrists, the left axillary is still swollen, only it is a shadow of its former self. I wore a bra one day last week, and it caused the axillary to flare and become more sore and swollen. That was the end of that experiment. I burned my bras in college, and seldom wore one after that, always choosing clothes that didn’t require one. Then six years ago, when I rejoined corporate America, I felt the need to dress the part, and went back to bras and suits. My lymph therapist thinks that the bra was part of what caused the lymph nodes under my arm to become so inflamed, or at least to make it worse, once it started.

The three-day migraine is gone. It was an interesting experience I hope to never repeat. Started with a lovely silver aura, jagged arc of flashing light, which lasted about a half hour. I’d never experienced that before, and since I’ve had a detached retina in the same eye that was seeing the aura, it was a bit of a scare.

The whole experience did give me some new insight into how difficult the past 18 months have been for DD1. She has not had a day without headache in all that time. I truly admire her. Don’t know how she continues on. She has bad days and better days, but never a pain-free day. In general, she is better than 6 months ago, and lots lots better than 18 months ago, so she is making progress. We have a new PT for her, at the spinal clinic. They’ve done an MRI to rule out pinched nerves and whatever other bad things they were looking for. They, too, think it is all muscular, and have a whole new bag of tricks to help her. In the mean time, I’ve found a new neurologist, who I’ll keep in my pocket for now, if this doesn’t work, and we need to take a different approach. My heart aches for her. When she was a wee one, her nickname was Sunshine; people basked in her happy nature. Now she shines in a different way, in her ability to survive.

 

 

 

Written by wovensongs

April 2, 2012 at 5:54 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love your Sunshine comparison. So true! I think all chronic autoimmune patients need to have that imprinted on our foreheads.

    deb aka abcsofra

    April 3, 2012 at 10:31 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

āˆž itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go ā€“ Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

