heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

6 more baby chicks

with 2 comments

In order to get gluten-free chicken feed, I had to order 250 pounds, custom-made. I wasn’t able to find anyone to share it with. In order to use it all before it spoils, I need more chickens – so Sunday I became the proud mama of 6 more little fuzz balls. As my son said, how much more work could 6 more chicks be when we are already taking care of the first 6! They are about a week younger than the first babies were when we got them, so even cuter – shhh don’t tell the “big girls” I said that.

I’m coming back to daily health tracking  – it keeps me focused.

My health has improved immensely over the past year. Now I’m ready to see if I can make yet more improvements.

NP says doesn’t matter if it’s early PD or just autoimmune nerve involvement, it’s basically just a name and all part of the same spectrum of autoimmune problems.

So, time to get back to researching and figuring out next steps.

I wish there was a magic pill or a prescriptive formula – do this and this and this and you will get better. So far, there’s no medical authority that has been able to give me overall guidance, I just have to piece it all together myself. But what I’m doing IS working. I just need to remember that.

I AM better, the RA is quiet as long as I don’t get gluten zapped and the weather changes aren’t too drastic, and I don’t over work anything. It’s not gone, but it is better, and my overall health is better. I can do more, I ache less, my brain is working better, my moods are more stable. But – I want to be well, instead of better.

So, back to daily tracking of symptoms so I can measure my progress. My goals for the next 12 months:

1. Lose 30 more pounds

2. Have less than 1 gluten zap per month

3. Get rid of the edema in the balls of my feet

4. Change my sleep pattern so that I wake up 4 or fewer times per night, every night

7 am Friday

Joints – feet 2, hands 2 – hands stiff for a few minutes this  morning. Feet stiff for the first 5 minutes of my walk.

General – I have that heavy all over brain and body tiredness today. There is a storm approaching. I ate Fritos  and rice last night, and ice cream at lunch – ugh.

Sleep: I woke 14 times in the night,  woke feeling slow and stupid. Compared to waking 4 times Wednesday night.  I have two months of data that show me consistently sleeping better on Wednesday nights. I need to recreate my Wednesday night pattern and see if I can find out the cause of the insomnia. Things that are different on Wednesday night:

1. No TV time, Computer time, Screen time in general after 6

2. Good company, hugs, and girl time

3. Dinner at 5 instead of 8

4. Second cup of coffee

5. 3 hours of weaving

6. All of the above

7. None of the above

Edema – baseline +1 everywhere – wrists slightly swollen, left side of face, upper inner thighs, sore lymph gland in right thigh, pouch on left lower abdomen, abdomen in general, balls of feet, left baby toe, left outer thigh.

Weight – 178.5 – down 2 pounds

Hands – DH was finally dxed by dermatologist and she prescribed Aczone – my hands are the worst they have ever been. I have itchy blisters over the backs of both hands and on all 4 fingers of the left hand. It seems to be exacerbated by picking tomatoes  so now I’m wearing gloves and wondering about the nightshades in general. This is such a set back, as two months ago my hands were completely healed. To go from completely healed to the worst outbreak ever is annoying. I’ve had this for 40 years, and really enjoyed the two months of having normal skin on my hands instead of itchy blistery bleeding cracking uglyness. So, at the moment, this is one of my primary motivators to get back into health care/investigative mode and figure out my next steps.

PD – no freezing this am.

Written by wovensongs

July 27, 2012 at 9:26 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You are a gift to me, and no doubt to many, with your honest sharing. I have struggled with mild symptoms of much that you relate. Sometimes the balls of my feet hurt– did not know how to describe it, but they do feel swollen at that time. I was tested years ago for RA, but nothing found. Still, when I overwork, yes, the joints and body ache. I believe it is the overall auto-immune activity in my body. I still have to be care of all manner of food, activity, and even emotional stress to keep a level of energy.

    Just in case no one told you, I inquired yesterday of my ‘expert’ chicken raiser at the feed store: you can safely feed grain that has weevils to your chickens. The weevils are a bonus to them!

    Congrats on your new babies! Enjoy!

    CurtissAnn

    July 29, 2012 at 1:09 pm

  2. Hi CurtissAnn,
    Thank you for your kind words!
    I seem to do better at keeping track of what is going on when I blog, and if it helps someone else, that’s a wonderful bonus.
    When I was first DXd with Celiac and RA and Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis and DeQuervain’s Syndrome, it was a lot to deal with. The blogs I found lead me to the diet and other alternative treatments I’m using successfully. I would have been lost without the internet. It is an interesting and powerful community, filled with wonderful people.
    Thank you for the idea about the weevils. I’m sure the gals will love them! I just got my 6th egg today!
    Hope you & your chicks are doing well.

    Susan

    August 7, 2012 at 9:23 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

