heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

A lost week

with one comment

Lost this whole week – Tuesday am Sophie, the little black kitten, was bitten by a snake – on the paw and face. Emergency trip to the vet & doctoring for several days, policing when outside to use the potty, etc. Took up a lot of time.

Friday Dottie, the chicken (second one to start laying eggs), laid a colossal egg and tore her vent. She had ooohy, goohy stuff all over her bum. Too late for the vet, so after extensive internet search, I gave her a bath, applied oralgel for the pain and triple antibiotic for healing. Saturday – repeat, Sunday, repeat. Monday found a chicken vet & he said I was doing all the right things & that she was healing, and no infection, and keep up the routine til she’s healed. Some day I’ll write about how you bathe & blow dry a chicken. But not today.

Yesterday I ate: coffee, sugar, local milk, ginger, chili, avocado, cherries, melon, carrot, celery, onion, peach, yogurt,

______________

Report Out Tuesday

woke with joints at a 1. Storm is past, another is moving in.

I was so tired last night – home from work, slept an hour on my bed, then another hour or more on the couch – people cooking dinner, in and out, coming home from work, taking care of chicks, picking garden – never heard any of it – woke for dinner, but if I’d been alone, I would have skipped dinner and gone back to bed. I felt like I was drugged. Went to bed at 10 and slept until 6. Maybe that was the storm. Haven’t felt like that in a long time. Also had RLS – may 1/2 hour.

Weight up – 170.2

hands were really sore yesterday, lots of new, deep blisters, cracking bleeding knuckles, red, dry, peeling skin. Seem some better today, not as red, but a rash of new blisters, both small & large, red deep.  Will they every heal?????

I have a killer headache.

On a positive note, have only tripped once in the past week, and am not noticing as much trembling in arms, legs, head. A lot last Thursday, after I saw the chiro, but none since them. Smell and taste seem to be about the same, so no more deterioration I can detect, but also no noticeable improvement.

Yesterday I ate: melon, avocado, chili, cherries, ice cream, roast, spaghetti squash w/ butter, garlic, basil, carrots, onion, celery

I’ve dropped rice and potatoes from my diet – that doesn’t seem to be making any difference in my weight or skin. Corn is still in season here, but I guess it is the next to go – there’s always next year. Have found a source for  local raw milk, made yogurt & will  make some butter with my next gallon. So, gradually moving away from any dairy except the raw, local, pastured. See if that makes a difference in my skin.  Otherwise, the dairy will be the next thing to go. Can’t bring myself to shed the nightshades yet, since my garden if full of peppers and tomatoes and they are the best I’ve ever grown. We are drying and making sauce and eating lots and giving away; have lots of help from the squirrels and chickens and still we can’t keep up with them all. It’s a nice problem to have 🙂

_______________

The Report Out – Monday

Rained all day yesterday – joints are happy this am. Maybe a .5 for hands and feet. It’s still raining. Saw PT1 on Saturday, edema is moving better –

More new, deep blisters this am. I’m going to give it a week of no handling the chicks or their feed, no dishes, no food prep without gloves and minimal hand washing and see if that helps heal them. This is getting ridiculous, every day, new blisters in new spots. Today they are the deep sore kind. They hurt until they open, which takes a couple of days, and then they take longer to heal. My hands are beet red again, so I feel like I took a major step back yesterday, when they had been a teeny bit better on Friday, not so red, not as itchy. Sigh.

169.2 – moving – slowly

Yesterday I ate: popcorn, butter, ice cream, corn on the cob, pork roast, greens, tomato, avocado, peach

_________________

The Report Out – Sunday

Left hand stiffer than right, maybe a 1.5 and a .5 better than normal, not as good as yesterday. Slight edema in hands. Feet also not as good as yesterday, better than my normal. There is a storm moving this way.

Yesterday I ate: Chicken sausage, coffee, sugar (no cream), ribeye, chicken, broccoli, cheese sauce, corn, butter, potatoes, avocado, tomato, ice cream – tummy fine

____________

The Report Out – Saturday

Tummy off a teeny bit last night, after coffee, before dinner.

Woke with a whole new rash of blisters. DD1 thinks that maybe the handling the chickens and their feed is what’s causing/aggravating this. Even though it is gluten-free food, it still is ground on shared equipment, so a small amount of cc is assumed. Since my hands have been a mess for about the same amount of time I’ve had the chicks, there may be something to that. She thinks the raw skin is a way for the gluten to enter my body. So for now, I’ll be the gloved chicken handler!

Woke this am and was up for 1/2 an hour before I realized my feet and hands had no stiffness! Yeah. That’s one for me. On the other hand, a whole new rash of blisters, raw and oozy. Lost one pound – 169.5.

Lymph session with PT1 was good. She moved a lot of fluid. I was relaxed afterwards, but not that awful tired I sometimes get.

Yesterday I ate: eggs – from my chickens, peaches, melon from my garden, ginger, coffee, cream, sugar, bacon/tomato roll ups, ribeye, asparagus, butter, salt & pepper

Written by wovensongs

August 28, 2012 at 6:20 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for the effort to post this. I’m learning from you.

    CurtissAnn

    August 29, 2012 at 8:57 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

