heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

All good things come in threes

leave a comment »

They say all bad things come in threes – Tuesday the kitten was bitten by a snake, Friday the hen tore her vent laying a giant egg, Sunday I got glutened by a gluten-free Kind bar. Sigh. Again.

Monday morning I woke with hundreds and hundreds of new itchy weeping sore blisters covering both hands. Overnight I went from the best my hands had been in a month, to twice as bad as the worst they had been, ever. They are a purplish red color, leathery, dry, weeping, oozing, itchy, sore, swollen mess. Sigh. Again.

They also say all good things come in threes – the kitten is almost well, the chicken is recovering, the loan for my studio was approved, I received a long (20 year) overdue apology (long story), the tree guy is doing $3000 worth of work for free (part of the apology), and I received an amazing email from my friend Teresa, just when I needed it most. Thank you Teresa, you are an angel.

so 3 bad, 6 good  – I like this statistic!

 

And the icky health stuff:

My poor sad hand:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I got to work Monday, I called and pleaded and begged and argued and finally managed to get an appointment with the doctor, instead of the PN, for Tuesday afternoon.

Fast forward. Monday night before dinner, I noticed my chest and forearms were itchy. Closer inspection showed hundreds of tiny red bumps. Hummm.

After dinner – bumps had spread to chest & neck. Took a Benadryl. Slept until 2, woke with itchy bumps on face & upper arms. Back to sleep.

Stable all day. Saw dermatologist. Two new creams for hands, a course of prednisone. A 2.5 week follow up appointment. She doesn’t think the stuff on my hands is dermatomyositis – said “grotton’s papules are usually on the knuckles” – duh – those ARE on my knuckles. But what do I know. My hands look just like all the photos, my symptoms read like a text book, I have Celiac & several other autoimmune issues. She also said she thought the secondary rash on my arms, face, neck, chest was nothing to worry about, and not related to my hands, but just caused by the general stress to my body dealing with my hands.

This morning, dozens of the deeper sore red blisters.They take 2-4 days to surface and pop and are sore until they do. And the tiny little red bumps have spread to my sides & tummy & scalp.

So, I’m off to work. The pharmacy opens at 9, I’ll get my scripts and start the prednisone then. Brace myself for the weight gain that comes with it and pray that it helps heal this mess.

I’ve sent for a new book, and am starting the FODMAP diet tomorrow. Fasting today, to give my poor tummy a rest. It sure hates gluten.

Wonder about seeing the Rheumatologist, or my PCP, or just sticking with the dermatologist on this one. Guess time will tell.

Why is this all so difficult????

 

 

Written by wovensongs

August 29, 2012 at 7:48 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

