heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Garden Mystery

with 4 comments

I’m having such fun with my garden this year! A new fence and some tree removal has given me plenty of sunshine and NO deer damage.

My daughter, knowing me well, gave me this little garden placard for my birthday.

IMG_1195

I found this growing in my garden recently.  I don’t remember planting it!
The chickens don’t seem to know what it is, either.
They all come running when they see me in the garden. I throw cherry tomatoes over the fence to keep them entertained.

IMG_1196

Health Stuff…..

I’ve logged my measurements monthly for the past three years, since the beginning of the RA diagnosis, right after the 20 pounds in 6 weeks weight gain.

I take 25 different measurements, so I can keep track of what’s what. The first year I receive 106 sessions of lymph massage, acupuncture and physical therapy. At the end of that year, I was 47 inches smaller.

I measured yesterday. In addition to the 15 pound weight gain in the past 10 weeks, my total measurements have gone up by 40 – so I’m still 5 pounds and 7 inches ahead of where I started. Going backwards, but still ahead of where I started.

I saw a new lymph therapist yesterday. My therapist moved back to Holland in February.  My second choice has been out ill for months, my third choice needs a doctor’s script and costs a fortune and can only see me for 8-10 sessions at a time. I saw her twice last week, now she is on vacation. So, she gave me the name of another therapist. The new therapist was good, The scale showed 1.5 pound loss this morning. I will schedule another session with her for later this week. Maybe she can turn this tide.

My tummy was still bloated when I woke yesterday morning. And stayed that way all day. I sipped chicken broth in the morning, then had boiled chicken for lunch. A half cup of coffee with cream and sugar when I got home, to chase away the coffee withdrawal headache, then a small piece of steak for diner. As soon as I finished eating dinner, the roof of my mouth felt burned, and I had a line of white, raised bumps on the inside of my lower lip – they didn’t hurt, just felt rough to my tongue and looked icky. Strange reaction to steak with nothing but salt on it.

I went to bed at 9 and slept until 7 and woke with no tummy gas and 1.5 pounds lighter, so all in all, it was a good day!

Written by wovensongs

August 12, 2013 at 6:44 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I love that garden sign 🙂

    It’s good to have you back posting again. One thought about the steak: any chance you’re reacting to what the cow ate? I’ve met a couple people who have found that they do much better with beef that was strictly grass-fed, given zero grain. Commercial beef is given so many chemicals – that’s why we originally started raising our own. Anyhow, just a thought. Those little bumps in your mouth don’t sound pleasant 😦

    WarmSocks

    August 13, 2013 at 7:12 pm

    • WarmSocks,

      That’s a good thought. It was grocery store beef. I’ll experiment with some grass fed and see if there’s a difference.

      Thanks for the idea – I need all the help I can get sorting this out.

      Don’t think I could raise a cow on my 2.5 acres – but maybe when I retire I can buy a bigger place 🙂

      wovensongs

      August 14, 2013 at 5:04 am

    • Wow, thanks WarmSocks, I’ll get a copy!

      Could I have a milk cow? and a beef cow? and a pig? Don’t know how this city gal was born with the soul of a farmer.

      wovensongs

      August 16, 2013 at 5:28 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

