heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Pay attention…your body is talking

leave a comment »

IMG_1004

This is the first Pod Person. I made her in March.

Her base is a Jacaranda pod.

Each band of color is a different material. She includes yarn, wire, twine, beads, paper cord, sea grass, waxed linen and many other materials.

Great fun to weave and a real challenge to get her to balance and stand up.

Health Update:

IMG_1204

This is what the new blisters/sores look like. They start out red and very sore – this one makes it impossible to hold my coffee cup normally. Then, after about a week, they look like this, then another week and they get very hard and calloused, then they peel, and eventually after about a month, the look normal again. This is the 6th one I’ve had. Don’t know if this is a new version of DH or something altogether new and fun.

I slept well last night- 8 hours with just one bathroom trip. Stiff ankles in the middle of the night, and a new needles jabbing sensation, in my right heel this time.

Only my left hand was stiff and swollen this morning. My right was NORMAL! I could get my ring on, and flex my fingers!!!!

175 pounds – moving in the right direction, with 3 pounds lost.

Yesterday I ate: roast pork, coffee, sugar (NO CREAM), only 1/2 cup at breakfast, then ice cream and espresso because I was falling asleep in class, more pork roast, coffee with cream & sugar when I got home, and chicken broth with carrots for dinner. Tummy slightly gassy and bloated.

Aside from struggling to stay awake, I felt fine all day. No stiffness or achy joints.

Did have one disturbing new adventure.

I was talking with someone, and suddenly had a feeling of dozens of needles poking into my right calf. The sensation was, if not actually painful, intense enough that I couldn’t keep my leg still, and did not hear I thing my coworker said for several seconds or longer. I couldn’t think, or act, just observe. It was weird and new and disquieting.

I guess I really do have to pay attention to my health again.

Written by wovensongs

August 14, 2013 at 6:41 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

