heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

A good day

leave a comment »

IMG_1024

 

 

 

Here’s a picture of pod person number 2, all dressed up and ready for a night on the town.

I’m working on getting my computer cleaned up. Going through file folders that go back to 2006 and throwing out most stuff, organizing the photos into folders.

It’s a lot of work, but I can do it in the evening when I’m too tired to garden or do housework. And it gives me a feeling of having control over something in my life!

 

 

Health Stuff:

Woke this morning feeling good. Bottom of feet swollen, hands slightly swollen, but nothing is stiff. Got out of bed without any twinges. Weight is 175.3, up .3 since yesterday. Stomach is flat.

Had dry eyes and flashes in the night, for about the 5th night. These had gone away. They are an especially worrisome symptom, since I’ve already had retina surgery in my right eye, and RA can affect the eyes. I need to pay more attention here. My near vision has been blurry in the morning for the past three mornings, and my eyes feel filmy. Right eye is tender to the touch.  All symptoms I’ve had come and go before. So, somehow they are related to this new flare.

Yesterday was a good day.  Made 4500 steps. No other symptoms. Sat most of the day, as they haven’t moved my desk to my new location. No stiffness. Stomach flat all day.

I forgot my thyroid pill, so was feeling tired by noon. I had only packed chicken and chicken broth in my lunch box.  I ate some chicken for breakfast and then burped it until lunchtime. Afraid to eat more chicken, I lunched on popcorn and espresso with ice cream – not a bad lunch – from a gluten point of view – but it did start the carb cravings. Dinner was coffee, cream and sugar and mashed potatoes with tons of butter. So it was a total carb day, which probably accounts for the .3 pound gain – those bacteria are heavy. However, it seems they can digest corn and potatoes without giving me tummy issues.

Fingers are a mess, three have cracks again. No new deep blisters, or teeny blisters, but 5 are dry and leathery. Somehow the edema in my hands keeps them from healing, even though I’m not getting gluten zapped. I absolutely refuse to take prednisone again. Besides the 10 pound weight gain when I took it last August, even a tiny dose makes me really a bear to be around, they call it prednisone rage, and I believe it is well named. I took 5 mg for two days a couple of weeks ago when my hands started on this downward spiral, and they quickly started to heal, but I was angry at the world for several days.

I’ve lived with the mess on my hands since I was 16, so I guess I can live with it a bit longer.

No neuro symptoms. So life continues. I’m glad it’s Friday. And a cool weekend. I have lots of garden clean up to do. And some fall seed to plant.

Written by wovensongs

August 15, 2013 at 6:15 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

