heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

I Know My Body is Healing Because…

with 4 comments

Almost three and a half years since the RA diagnosis. 4 years 3 months 3 days since the worst symptoms appeared, instantly, excruciatingly.

And I am healing.

I need a pep talk today, so I’m sitting here thinking about where I was then, and where I am now.

I know My Body is Healing Because:

I can push the elevator button with my finger instead of using my keys.

When my rolling briefcase finally died a few weeks ago, I reverted back to my shoulder bag.

I can walk up the hill to the coffee shop while holding a conversation and never notice the hill.

I can walk up three flights of stairs.

I can weave baskets again.

I can open jars myself.

I’ve removed the foam padding from the steering wheel and garden tools.

I can get out of bed and out of a chair using only my legs and core muscles.

I can squat  when working in the garden.

I can sit on the floor to weave and get up again.

I can get out of the car painlessly.

I have to really stop and tune in to feel the ache in my wrists; it is now like the almost silent stirring of a sleeping newborn, which only a mother hears.

My voice has stopped cracking and I can sing again.

I can work in the garden: digging, raking, planting, mulching, picking up heavy bags of compost.

I built garden beds, planted, mulched, watered, weeded and picked; and grew enough vegetables to feed 5 people 1-2 servings every day all spring and summer.

I can turn door knobs and water faucets with either hand.

I can painless turn the ignition key.

I can sit and hold a heavy hardback book in my hands and read for hours.

I can type with both hands.

If I take a nap, I can go out in the evening – and sometimes I can go without the nap. And sometimes I can go two nights in the same week.

I can cook a whole meal and clean up afterwards.

I can lift my heavy cast iron skillets – ok – so I need both hands to lift the biggest one – but it is BIG!

IMG_1111

This is picture proof that I am healing – I grew the vegetables, picked them,  washed and cut them up and cooked dinner for six, plus lunches for two – in my biggest skillet.

Health Stuff Wednesday: (and this is why I needed a pep talk today)

Balls of feet are a little less swollen this am. Maybe a 0.25. Hands only swollen around nails. Left hand a little stiff.  Neck still creaking.

Right hip still a ball of fluid, makes sitting unpleasant.

Tummy bloated like a beach ball :(

Weight this am 170.3 – down .5 for a total of 8 pounds  :)

NEW BLISTERS -D*** D*** D*** And they are in totally new spots on 4 fingers, and on old spots on least 4 other fingers. They continue to break out as I sit here. This was a major zap and I haven’t a clue from whence it came.  Three fingers are normal, 7 have dry spots,  6 with  scabs, no cracks, still edema and redness around nail beds. Major step backwards.

And the itchy red bumps are all over both sides and the back of my neck, again. And all over my scalp. They seem to cover my area each time I get them. Yikes.

Second day of bloating and a whole new crop of blisters. Not sure what I’m going to do now, but I need an even simpler approach. Do I dial back to only one food, until my tummy stops bloating? Do I go to zero carbs and see what that does? The only thing that seems to be working is the weight loss, and my prediction (based on edema & blisters going hand in hand) is that I’ll see a weight gain tomorrow. Is this all a part of detox????? Now I’m afraid to eat the newest batch of soup/chicken/carrots/jello in case they are where the gluten is hidden. What to do?????

Yesterday I ate: chicken broth, chicken, carrots, pork, grape jello,  coffee with cream and sugar and a banana.

Written by wovensongs

September 18, 2013 at 7:14 am

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That is a wonderful laundry list of improvements. Good for you! I have always loved shoes. Don’t get me wrong. I would never buy the $300 and up pairs. I would rather have 10 pairs of $10 shoes than one pair of $100 shoes. lol My wonderful shoe collection gathered dust in my closet as I wore over-sized clown shoes or worse house slippers with everything. It was a victory for me last year when a switch to Humira from Enbrel finally made enough of a difference that I am wearing regular shoes again. Yay!

    As for foods – I told my doctor recently that I’m so restricted in so many ways that they ought to just make Marcia Kibble for me. Then I wouldn’t have to stress about it anymore. Wait! They did have that movie Soylent Green. No, I don’t want to go in that direction!

    Glad to meet you!

    Marcia

    September 18, 2013 at 10:29 am

    • Thanks for stopping by.

      Your shoes sound wonderful, glad you are back in them. I only wear Vibram 5 fingers, as they keep my toes straight and the stretchy fabric helps keep the swelling down. Not very stylish – but they keep me moving!

      I want some Susan Kibble, will you order it for me??? LOL. At this point, if it was available, and would keep the beast at bay, I’d sign on!

      Hope your days is a happy easy one.

      wovensongs

      September 19, 2013 at 6:16 am

  2. What an encouraging post. I think sometimes we fail to focus on the small changes that are happening to our body.

    Cathy

    September 20, 2013 at 5:53 am

    • Exactly.

      Every once in awhile, I need to stop and take note. I have come a long way in 3.5 years and I sometimes forget.

      I can trace the celiac symptoms back to age 5 and the RA back 15 years. Expecting to heal everything instantly is not realistic – yet it’s what I WANT.

      I hope you are doing well and carving out that quiet time!

      wovensongs

      September 20, 2013 at 7:24 am


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

