heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Just Health Stuff

with 3 comments

Came home last night to DD2 in a cooking frenzy.

When she feels good, she often cooks several meals at once, so that there is food available for days she doesn’t feel good.  She made pasta bake, meatloaf, baked potatoes, fried rice, banana bread, applesauce and chicken soup.

I enjoyed the delicious aromas, rejoiced that I could smell banana bread and meatloaf. Contented myself with chicken soup and warm applesauce. The experiment continues and my tummy is flat. The beach ball is hiding.

 

Health Stuff Tuesday:

Balls of feet are a .5, hands a little stiff.  Neck still creaking, maybe a little less

Right hip still a ball of fluid, makes sitting unpleasant.

Tummy flat again!

Weight this am ???

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 0 cracked, 0 peeling with a scab, 7 dry &  peeling, 3 swollen around nails. Better than yesterday – progress

PVCS – a few at bedtime

Neuro symptoms are quiet.

Eye flashes quiet.

Hot flashes and RLS quiet.

Yesterday I ate: eggs, chicken, APPLESAUCE, carrots, broth, affogato, coffee  C & S.

A new food – apples – so far, so good! My diet now includes: eggs, chicken, pork, beef, carrots, butternut squash, coffee, cream & sugar. Slow but steady progress.

Health Stuff Monday:

Balls of feet are a .5, hands a little stiff.  Neck still creaking.

Right hip still a ball of fluid, makes sitting unpleasant.

Tummy flat again!

Weight this am 170.9 – down!

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 1 cracked, 1 peeling with a scab, 2 peeling, 3 swollen around nails.

PVCS are quiet.

Neuro symptoms – sleep paralysis in am

Eye flashes quiet.

Hot flashes and RLS quiet.

Yesterday I ate: chicken, White grape jello, carrots, broth, bananas, applesauce, coffee  C & S.

 

Health Stuff Sunday:

Balls of feet are a .5, hands a little stiff.  Neck still creaking.

Right hip still a ball of fluid, makes sitting unpleasant.

Tummy flat again!

Weight this am 172.8 – up another .5  from yesterday – hopefully, that’s the last of the gluten gain.

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 1 cracked, 1 peeling with a scab, 2 peeling, 3 swollen around nails. The rest seem to be healing. For having blisters on Wednesday – they are looking amazing today!

PVCS are quiet.

Neuro symptoms are quiet.

Eye flashes quiet.

Hot flashes and restless leg syndrom, goes with the GZ.

Yesterday I ate: chicken, grape jello, carrots, broth, bananas, coffee  C & S.

Health Stuff Saturday:

Balls of feet are a 1, hands a little stiff.  Neck still creaking. All fingers are swollen.

Right hip still a ball of fluid, makes sitting unpleasant.

Tummy flat again!

Weight this am 172.3 – up 1.5  from yesterday – alas the expected gluten gain.

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 7 dry, peeling, with scabs, no cracks this morning. Seem to be healing faster.

PVCS at bedtime.

Neuro symptoms are quiet.

No eye flashes

Hot flashes and restless sleep.

Yesterday I ate: chicken, grape jello, carrots, broth, banana, coffee  C & S.

And then I came home to DD2 and DS cooking for their cousin who was visiting. Although they have seen her regularly throughout their lives, I have not seen her in 15 years. So, I ate dinner with them – roast chicken, rice, okra from the garden, salad, GF chocolate chip cookies. Tummy is slightly bloated this morning.

Timeline: Gluten zap. X hours: nose bleed. X hours: blisters. 24 hours after blisters: weight gain. 28 hours after blisters: diarrhea. 48 hours after blisters: eye flashes. – if I can work backwards from the blisters, maybe I can finally get the time line – which would then allow me to sometimes figure out what “got” me. DD2 has hives & the dastardly D – so it had to be something we both ate. DS got sick too – he ate the pork the next day, so he got sick after we did. That helps to establish a time line. And so we think it was BBQ sauce on the pork. Mine was supposed to be plain, but was sleeping on the grill next to the others, and the grill master is not always in tune.

Written by wovensongs

September 24, 2013 at 7:28 am

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad you are feeling better.
    I don’t remember if you’ve said anything about your kitchen utensils, but wooden spoons can absorb things, so shouldn’t be used by people who are GF unless they’ve never been used on other stuff. That could be a source of gluten when you can’t figure out where it came from. Some chapsticks have gluten, too 😦

    WarmSocks

    September 24, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    • Hi WarmSocks,

      Thanks for reading. I love your blog.

      You are right about the gluten hiding! We purged our kitchen and utensils three years ago and started over with new. I think many Celiacs don’t take this extra step – it is expensive – but it was fun. After 40 years of housekeeping, it was like having all the wedding gifts without the wedding.

      No gluten is allowed in the house. We have 3 celiacs and 2 non. We told the 2 guys that since they could eat anywhere in the whole world and we could only know we were safe in our nice gluten free kitchen, they had to abide by our rules. After the first infraction, where I found poppy seeds in the silverware drawer and my nice new toaster on the way to the thrift shop, and pitched a major hissy fit – they took me seriously!

      Fall has arrived in the Southern Part of Heaven and with it, my flares are calm and peaceful. Hope you are well, too.

      wovensongs

      September 25, 2013 at 7:27 am

      • Thank you. Good to hear you’ve already purged the kitchen. Every now and then I meet people who didn’t know that their continued problems were due to the cutting board or wooden spoon. Sounds like you’re mostly feeling much better. Yay! 🙂

        WarmSocks

        September 25, 2013 at 1:59 pm


Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

