heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Turn stumbling blocks into stepping-stones

leave a comment »

Three weeks on the SCD/GAPS elimination diet. I figure I’ve been doing it at somewhere between 80 and 90 percent. I never managed to ditch the coffee/cream/sugar & I’ve had ice cream several times, popcorn twice, corn chips once and two lollipops – which I burped for half an hour. For the most part, I’ve been successful. My tummy has been flat for most of the 3 weeks, I’ve had less frequent and less severe gluten zaps, I’ve lost some of the edema weight, my hands are showing significant healing.

This week was the worst – I got sloppy – I had those lollipops on Wednesday, then popcorn on Thursday, Ice Cream, Corn Chips – gluten zaps makes you really hungry for something. Yesterday I cooked beef soup for the week and made candied ginger because the new crop is in the market, and I make enough for the year. And I was still feeling brain foggy from the last gluten zap – I was on day four of the pear sauce, and planned on trying paprika on my chicken. Then I tasted the candied ginger, too.  And ate one, only one, of the toasted squash seeds.

And immediately after dinner – beach ball belly (BBB) – AND the tiny men with the pitch forks moved in. I can’t remember when they last made a visit – a year ago? maybe 2? This time, they stayed all night, doing their gymnastics in my belly. I also had a return of neuro twitches and toe curls, which have been quiet for some time.

This morning, the men and their pitchforks have  moved on. Still have BBB, still having some twitches, am starting to feel human again.

Only I don’t know what caused all this – was it the pear sauce kicking in on the 4th day? Was it the paprika? Was it the ginger? These are two things we use often, so I thought they would be ok. Was it the corn chips from the day before? So, now I have BBB and a sleepless night of pain, and know NOTHING.

In seventh grade, my History teacher put a new quote on the board every day. He never would talk about the quotes, just put them there, every day for a whole year. They never related to anything we were studying, and covered the range of topics of life. I found that I spent most of each period puzzling over the quote. I’ve loved quotes ever since.

In the middle of the night, to try to keep my mind off the tiny pitch forks, I was doing some puzzles where you end with a quote, if you solve the puzzle correctly. Almost every puzzle I worked contained a message just for me:

“Every problem is a chance to do our best”

“A good scare can be a powerful teacher”

“Turn stumbling blocks into stepping-stones”

“Self discipline is the only real discipline”

So, now I’ve had three weeks of practice on this elimination diet. I know that it has helped me to start to heal. I know where my particular stumbling blocks lie. And I am starting over. Giving this a real chance. Giving it 100%.

Wish me well.

 

Health Stuff Monday:

Balls of feet around a .5 and hands good today

Right hip maybe improving?

Tummy – ah 9 months – if I could only deliver this baby and get done with it.

Weight this am – ugh, 170.8 lost 1.1 pounds since yesterday.

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 0 cracked, 1 scaby, 7 dry &  3 swollen around nails – so still seeing overall improvement.

Hives on my chest in three places – this is new.

DH blisters in two places on my left knee, also new. The spot on my right ankle finally looks like it’s healing.

PVCS at bed time & this am.

Neuro symptoms in the evening, watching TV, twitches in left arm, right leg, head and toe curls in both feet and major cramp in right toes. Sigh.

Eye flashes quiet.

Hot flashes quiet.

RLS quiet.

Yesterday I ate: raw apple, coffee, cream, sugar, chicken broth, carrots, chicken, beef, squash, paprika, ginger.

Today is day ONE – again.

 Health Stuff Sunday:

And the saga continues. Today I have the “foggy brain, wish the world would go away, hate my life, don’t want to do anything in spite of the fact that it’s a beautiful fall day” part of the gluten zap. On days like this, I need to either go away and hide in a cave or be super vigilant to not go down the spiraling sink hole that ends with me picking a fight with my DD1 or hating the world and everyone in it.

Balls of feet and hands good today – no noticeable swelling!

Right hip maybe improving?

Tummy flat again!

Weight this am – ugh, back to 171.9 – yet another part of the Gluten Zap roller coaster.

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 0 cracked, 1 scaby, 7 dry &  3 swollen around nails – so still seeing overall improvement.

PVCS at bed time & this am.

Neuro symptoms quiet!

Eye flashes quiet.

Hot flashes early am – GZ

RLS quiet.

Yesterday I ate:  carrots, broth,  pork, PEARSAUCE, coffee  C & S, corn chips and butternut squash.

Today is day four for pears – so far, so good! I’m adding spinach at dinner.

Health Stuff Saturday:

Wednesday I had a yummy earth lollypop – I’ve eaten bags of them before  with no problem- this time I burped for 1/2 hour – great huge burps. Thursday morning I woke with two of the deep sore blisters, but no little ones, crusty eyes and nose. Friday evening I had the dreaded “D” and restless legs. If it was the lollypop, that means my timeline is shorter than I thought. Or it wasn’t gluten, but the citric acid I reacted to. Or my symptoms are changing. Or.

Balls of feet and hands good today – no noticeable swelling!

Right hip still a ball of fluid, makes sitting unpleasant. Tops of legs bulging again, below right knee. Need to get myself back to a lymph therapist.

Tummy flat again!

Weight this am ???

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 0 cracked, 0 scabs, 7 dry &   1 peeling, 3 swollen around nails – so still seeing overall improvement.

PVCS quiet

Neuro symptoms quiet!

Eye flashes quiet.

Hot flashes quiet

RLS Friday evening.

Yesterday I ate:  carrots, broth, jello,  pork, PEARSAUCE, coffee  C & S, popcorn w/ butter & affogato – oh my!

Today is day three for pears – so far, so good!

Health Stuff Friday:

Balls of feet and hands good today – no noticeable swelling!

Right hip still a ball of fluid, makes sitting unpleasant. Tops of legs bulging again, below right knee.

Tummy flat again!

Weight this am 170.3 – down to another new post prednisone low 🙂

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 0 cracked, 0 scabs, 7 dry &   1 peeling, 3 swollen around nails – so still seeing overall improvement.

PVCS – a few at bedtime

Neuro symptoms quiet!

Eye flashes quiet.

Hot flashes and RLS quiet.

Yesterday I ate: chicken, APPLESAUCE, carrots, broth, jello, chicken sausages,  pork, PEARSAUCE, coffee  C & S –  :)

Today is day two for pears – so far, so good!

Health Stuff Thursday:

Balls of feet are a .5, hands a little stiff.  Neck still creaking, maybe a little less

Right hip still a ball of fluid, makes sitting unpleasant. Tops of legs bulging again, below right knee.

Tummy flat again!

Weight this am 171.3 – up .4 drat

DH: I now have: 3 fingers with normal skin, 2 cracked, 0 peeling with a scab, 7 dry &   1 peeling, 3 swollen around nails, and two new deep blisters in totally new places – what’s with that.

PVCS – a few at bedtime

Neuro symptoms: woke frozen again

Eye flashes quiet.

Hot flashes and RLS quiet.

Yesterday I ate: eggs, chicken, APPLESAUCE, carrots, broth jello, chicken sausages,  coffee  C & S – again :)

Today is day four for apples – so far, so good!

 
Written by wovensongs

September 30, 2013 at 7:55 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

