heartsongs

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

A New Beginning

leave a comment »

Over a year has passed since I blogged. Much has happened, much has stayed the same.

I had a horrible rash in January, which resulted in 5 days of bed rest on mega dose of prednisone. I gained 12 pounds, which I have yet to lose. We think the rash was related to the emu oil in the LDN. I stopped the LDN and all other drugs and supplements for 5 months, but eventually had to go back on levothyroxine.

The builders completed the bones of my studio in December; my wonderful family completed the interior, the soul. I moved into the space in February, 2014. I have always had a corner or a closet or a box somewhere in my home for my art; now I have a wonderful space that is all my own, and as a result my first gallery show is up at the O’More School of Design, in Franklin, TN.

I took a round of FMT pills, my Celiac symptoms have been milder since. The skin on my hands is about 90% better – maybe from the FMT, maybe from switching to nitrile gloves and eliminating latex reactive foods from my diet. May need to get tested for a latex allergy.

My lovely daughter was married in May, 2014. It took the whole tribe, friends and family, to choreograph this gluten free/egg free wedding on a shoe string budget. Housing a half dozen wedding guests and feeding 25 friends and family for 4 days, in addition to catering the rehearsal dinner and sit down wedding feast for 100 was an amazing feat. My daughter is very loved.

I had my first brush with cancer, a keratoacanthoma on my forearm. If one must have cancer, this is a very good one to have. It rarely metastasizes or invades. Treatment is removal. Very non-eventful.

The chickens are thriving, the cats purring, the parrot squawking, the garden suffered from wedding neglect, I survived the wedding extravaganza in spite of the RA.

Bursitis in my hip cause a month of limping, and took 7 months of PT to rehab.

My RA doc gave me the highest complement, saying she had learned so much from me!

My friend and fellow weaver lived with Leukemia for 5 months, and then passed away easily and peacefully in her home. She was only 61, and planning to retire on her 62 birthday. She left a large hole in my heart and life.

My very best friend has suffered with his own health demons for almost a year.

My PCP left the field of primary care to enter the mental health field. I may need her services because I’m going crazy trying to find a new PCP.

Tomorrow, I start the Auto Immune Protocol of the Paleo Diet. I am determined to find a way to heal my body from the Celiac Disease, the Hashimoto’s and the RA. I am so much better than 5 years ago, I’ve come far, now I want to finish the journey and become a healthy person.

2/28/2015

Written by wovensongs

February 21, 2015 at 11:46 am

Leave a Reply

Living with Rheumatoid Arthritis

A Patient's Musings About RA From a Scientific Frame of Reference

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

Carla's Corner

Day by day with RA ...

Pollyanna Penguin's RA Blog

This is a blog about me, my recently diagnosed rheumatoid arthritis and my struggles to stay positive about it!

∞ itis

Rheumatoid Arthritis, autoimmunity, and life

Auntie Stress

it's in you to change

Buffalo to go – Extreme Gluten Free

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Rheumatoid Arthritis Guy

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

ABC's of RA

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The Life and Adventures of Cateepoo

Weaving my way around Rheumatoid Arthritis.

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

